Customer reviews - what you say about Glenmore Lodge

Great place! Amazing location, Welcoming staff and excellent assessment course.
Graham Still Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 11/08/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Glenmore Lodge was my number one venue of choice, with the whole week surpassing expectations, whether the course, quality of instruction or the venue, facilities and great food. A huge thank you to all the staff at Glenmore Lodge for your high standards, welcoming approach and safe hands.
Stone Matthew Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 26/06/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I had a wonderful few days at the lodge and would recommend it to everyone.
Lunn Emily Discover Hill & Mountain Skills Reviewed on 13/06/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, predominantly down to first-class instruction, supported by quality food, accommodation, equipment and so on.
Smart Nicholas Learn to Lead Climb Reviewed on 12/06/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A fantastic week with Glenmore, it's one of my favourite places to be :)
Kirkaldy Isabel Discover Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/06/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A fantastic introduction to wild camping with first class instruction
Wilson David Learn to Wild Camp Reviewed on 07/05/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Another fantastic GL course led by outstanding instructor ( Mike Jones )
Undoubtedly world class courses in exceptional surroundings delivered by the best instructors to be found anywhere.
Watt Iain Advanced Winter Skills Reviewed on 24/03/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course. One of the best I have done.
Roberts Chris Advanced Winter Skills Reviewed on 20/02/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant! First-class instructors were keen to pass on their wealth of knowledge and share their passion for winter climbing. The ability to trial different equipment through the week was fantastic.
Will Winter Climbing (5 Days) Reviewed on 11/02/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course with first class instructors ( KR IST )
Watt Iain Winter Skills (5 Days) Reviewed on 06/02/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Superb, couldn't fault, perfect in every way.
Sharples Mike Intro Winter Skills (2 Day) Reviewed on 30/01/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Made to feel incredibly welcome by all staff involved, wonderful facilities and the course was very informative and at a good pace.
Wrightson Leanne Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 29/08/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Top notch delivery, course content and venue.
Speight Neil Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 26/06/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Enjoyed a fabulous weeks climbing at various different venues. Learnt loads of new skills and built on previous experience. The professionalism and enthusiasm of the instructors was second to none ,they have the gift of being able to quickly build confidence,sharing their knowledge with adaptability, encouragement , humour and humility, always professional, always with safety at the forefront of everything. All in, the week exceeded my expectations, and fitted perfectly to everything i needed and hoped for.
Taylor David Discover Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 23/05/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A really excellent all-round introduction to rock climbing and the rope work I need to know for my trip, which is going to be a bit more than a hike/scramble.
Very enjoyable indeed, and helped of course by the incredible 5 days of unbroken sunshine!
Chris I Discover Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/05/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course which should be a must for all hillwalkers.
Stewart Ronnie Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 17/04/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
We are keen walkers but learned so much more than we ever realised we needed to know!
Great teamwork at Glenmore ensured we had an enjoyable experience from the moment we parked the car to the tea and cake review meeting at the end of our course.
Walton Christine Intro Winter Skills (2 Day) Reviewed on 03/04/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Superb! First Class! Thank you! :)
Polkowska Malgorzata Introduction to Winter Navigation Reviewed on 08/03/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Overall a great course with lots to take in. The breadth of experience amongst the others on the course made for a great learning atmosphere with everyone willing to contribute.
Ray Allwood International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 07/11/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course providing lots of great ideas for teaching navigation, particularly for beginners.
Kay Anderson National Navigation Award Scheme (NNAS) Tutor Award Course Reviewed on 31/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
I found the course to be absolutely spot on, a great introduction to the theory and practise required to move quickly and safely in steep terrain.
PETER MCFADZEAN Discover Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 04/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Glenmore lodge's facilities, experienced trainers and excellent range of kit made it a fantastic place to go and learn and have fun
nicholas roxburgh Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 03/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course exceeded expectations in all ways from instruction through to accommodation and facilities.
Tanya Karlebach Discover Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 15/09/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good and would strongly recommend people do this immediately after the intro course. This course lets you consolidate skills you learned the previous day and also lets you learn new ones. I think people who only attended the improvers' course missed out.
maggie neilson 2 Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 06/09/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A really enjoyable course which I left feeling confident in my new skills for scrambling and with enthusiasm for getting out and doing it myself and progressing my skills in the future.
Natalie Tucker Discover Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 30/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Absolutely fantastic, I learnt so much and cannot wait to be back for assessment.
Stephen Hopwood Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 29/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was far and away the highest quality training that I have ever received. The centre is mind-blowingly good, the course very well deigned and the instructors of the highest calibre.
John Gilmour Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 30/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really well tought course, centre well equipped, everyone friendly, easy to reach incl. public transport
Ute Davies Discover Hill & Mountain Skills Reviewed on 21/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course, well worth doing and I would recommend anyone to take part if they want to develop their outdoors skills
steven rees Mountaineering Instructor Award Training Reviewed on 16/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
i thoroughly enjoyed the course and found it to be enjoyable, rewarding, informative and tailored to my my needs
Simon Targett Discover Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 18/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic 3 days with Derek Bain .
Edward corley Skye Ridge Traverse Reviewed on 29/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Had a brilliant time, came away feeling a lot more confident.
Kathryn Crouch Trad Climbing Improver Reviewed on 16/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I got a lot out of the course and had a really enjoyable week! I found it a great 'kick-start' in traditional rock climbing and now feel I know enough about the basics and have enough confidence to go out and continue learning together with friends who have more experience than I do. The quality of the course was very high and the content each day was well tailored. The lodge provides a great setting and the food and service was grand.
Christian Jonsson Discover Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 21/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
excellent instruction, pacing and explanation, had a great time and learned a great deal, cant wait to get up on the mountains and practice
Geoff Sharp Discover Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 05/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This is a great place to do your assessment. The instructors work hard to put you at your ease whilst getting the best from you. They give good feedback during and after the assessment. And the mountains are great...
Peter Coville Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great one day course that was tailored for the small group
Alison Smith Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 18/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Very knowledgeable instructors who gauged the group knowledge to deliver information and content to enrich our knowledge. Excellent attention to the safety aspect and the both led by example!
Milena Zaharieva Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 06/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course, instructors, food and accommodation! Really inspired!
Kirsten Ross Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 06/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Absolutely excellent course, brilliant instructors (Sandy Patterson and Colin Reilly), lot's of learning, brilliant venue and the catering was 2nd to none!
Drew Pountney Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 06/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Good overall - it gave me a chance to get climbing outdoors and experience different rock types.
Alice Mitchell Discover Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 09/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course that has moved my climbing skills forward significantly.
Mike Hall Learn to Lead Climb Reviewed on 08/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The day spent with Keith was thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish. Excellent
Sandy Thow MTA Winter Conference - Option 3 - Sunday Only (not including dinner) Reviewed on 31/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
It was good to view maps of a different landscape I picked up a few tips along the way. Even something as simple as knowing the new compasses have a 1:40 000 roma scale now added to them is great news.
Knowing a tip to easily slide a figure of eight knot up and down the rope was a good tip.
Brushing up on a few plants was good news.
I wish the course had been three days or four as I could easily have done two more of the workshops.
Virginia Whittle MTA Winter Conference Option 1 - Weekend Package Reviewed on 31/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An absolutely fabulous course. I came away with learning and doing much more than I had expected.
Alex Mair Discover Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 28/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Mark Lawton International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 01/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
You pay for the best and you get the best. Excellent facilities, inspirational staff.
Lawrence Tring Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 22/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A very well organised week.
Christopher Wood Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 23/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Amazing course, went beyond expectations thanks to the instructors and climbing locations.
Chris Bradbury Discover Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 27/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A very enjoyable attempt at the ridge - even if prevented by the weather again from completing the full traverse...
Caspian Richards Skye Ridge Traverse Reviewed on 22/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Very informative, well delivered course by excellent instructors who made learning a pleasure. Thanks to Bill, Phil and the other candidates for a great week and the staff at Glenmore Lodge; the perfect location.
Cathy Bow Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 16/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course! Covers all the basics! Great learning!
Giulio Maffioletti Safe Ropework And Gear Placement Reviewed on 13/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, very good instructors, well run.
Daniel Day Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 11/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I normally do not do any reviews but these guys definitely deserve it!
The entire lodge is like a well-oiled machine and there really is nothing to complain about. I would go back, for sure!
kristian pedersen Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
First class Assesor input, we were constantly informed of what the day ahead would contain. Sandy and Kev were excellent assessors and very professional.
Gordon Dowling Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Course content and delivery were excellent.
The Lodge staff all pull in the same direction and are all helpful and friendly.
Accommodation is good although the building I thought was a bit too warm.
Bill Dallas Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I wanted a hassle free WML Assessment and with the Lodge's package of food, accommodation and excellent instruction I certainly feel I got my monies worth and had no extra stress than necessary!
Matthew Le Voi Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Absolutely spot on. Would recommend. Would do another Glenmore course without hesitation.
Matthew Flynn Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 20/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A good course that is largely tailored to the groups experience and needs.
Stephen Corlett Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 14/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Michael Facchini Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 26/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Phil Younger Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, excellent instructors.
Neal Hockley Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Anthony Page Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Enjoyed my course and the setting.
Richard Cole Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Columb Strack Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I would have preferred more information pre joining about the first day briefing timetable and what to have packed for the first day on the mountain. Other than that excellent.
Huw Davies Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 06/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good course. Useful to have the instructors talk through their decision making when they changed plans and reacted to the weather. Learnt a lot and hope to do lots more soon.
Frances Grier Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 17/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The overall experience was excellent. The course, accommodation, and instructor were all excellent.
Robert Skilton Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 04/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A challenging and exciting week that taught a lot and pushed me to my limits
Ashley Bennett Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 29/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good developmental experience.
Martin Bray Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 29/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Overall a massively enjoyable course, allowing to be felt at ease throughout
Alexander Kay Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good as usual. The Glenmore package is comprehensive and good value.
Bruce Manning Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course in a good location. High standards as always.
Kirsty Pallas Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 23/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A brilliant experience all round- thoroughly educational, but also great fun.
Daniel Rowlands Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 22/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Even better than expected, thanks!
James Wheeldon Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent.
Simon Todd Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 21/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was a great introduction to winter mountaineering in Scotland and the course was structured to maximise even the worst conditions and weather that Scotland could throw our way... I have returned wanting more and perhaps even to try out winter climbing in the very near future... Highly recommended to anyone - just go for it!
Kirsty-Jane Birch Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 21/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Philip Dale Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 24/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very relaxed assessment that put me at ease in what was quite a stressful experience.
Mark House Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 22/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course was amazing! However it would have been good if our group had been split into the two smaller groups so that we could have had more time with the instructors and able to view the demos more easily. I thoroughly enjoyed the course but feel that I could have learnt more had we split the groups. The lodge itself is excellent, the food amazing and the facilities are brilliant, however it would be good to update the site to show that the sauna is no longer available. This course has been fantastic and I can't wait to do more mountaineering.
Sarah Stead Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 14/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really enjoyed the entire process, very informative and learned loads.
Tom Gallon Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 24/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent, that says it all.
Trevor Hogg Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 15/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Oliver Price Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 20/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course, with loads of new skills, taught by enthusiastic and enormously knowledgeable instructors who were huge fun to be around. Evening lectures and food were terrific. Massively recommended.
Michael Canty Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 14/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
One lecture per night might have been better.
Jonathan Edwards Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 14/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Darren Key Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 14/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A great week, thanks
Iain Airth Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 14/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Mark Tullberg Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 08/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Andrew Hewison Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 08/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Would struggle to find anything at fault with the course, the facilities or staff. Weather is weather and the best was done with what was available.
James King Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 09/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Mark Hughes Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 07/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent! Five full-on days in the stunning Scottish mountains despite some pretty challenging weather conditions.
Sally Woodbridge Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Niall Looney Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Cannot fault this course and the Lodge/staff in general. Total proessionalism from the guides. Bill was outstanding. Attentive, entertaining, inspiring as well as the expected qualities of knowledgeable and professional. I can and will recommend this course and glenmore Lodge to friends for a long time to come
Mike Solan Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 10/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Ben Proudman Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Lots of fun, good revision, great day on the Ben and confidence to tackle some more winter routes. Weather was utterly awful but that's out of our control - might try March next time :-)
Peter Coville West Coast Winter Mountaineering (Non-Residential) Reviewed on 31/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Last minute switch to 5 day winter skills. Can't fault the course, the lodge,the food or the instructor, excellent all round and very lucky with the weather most days. Shame about the sauna but look forward to returning when the refurb is up and running.
Andrew Balme Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 24/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I feel very pleased with the course that i attended at the Lodge. Personable instructors, great knowledge and quality accommodation.

i've been to Glenmore lodge for years and i will be coming back.
Matt Dawson Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 24/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Yue Hin Pong Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 25/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Intensive training course. Plenty of myths about the WML dispelled, some unknown realities explained.
Paul Nolan Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 24/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I feel I entirely got my money's worth.
Thomas Carr-Griffin Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 17/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic and invaluable winter experience with lots of great people.
Sam Merriman Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 18/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Ewan McCormack Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 18/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I perhaps would have gotten more out of this if my fitness was higher. Weather seemed to dictate we spend a lot of time on navigation and avi awareness.
RICK MORTELLRA Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 17/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The five-day course gave us the chance to learn about and practise a comprehensive range of skills.
Andy Hemsted Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 25/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Another informative and fun course at the Lodge, well run by Sandy to accommodate the windy conditions.
Richard Cockburn Winter Mountain Leader Refresher Reviewed on 08/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Food & Drink
Overall
Great day, great instructor, great fellow trainees. As you can I tell I really enjoyed myself. Thanks for putting this on. I'll be back for the advanced course as soon as the weather warms up a bit :)
Martin Morrison Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 30/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Food & Drink
Overall
Stuart Mapp International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 08/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Allan Hunn International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 08/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, lots of very useful info and the wide experience of candidates was as much part of the learning. Thank you Nigel and all Lodge staff.
David Howie International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 11/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great five days at the Lodge on a Summer ML assessment. Great food, great facilities, excellent instructors. Will definitely be back!
Jamie MacManaway Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 26/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Peter Liston Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 25/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic follow on from intro to navigation. Jess was a fantastic instructor and very encouraging. Managed to meet requirements fully in a fun and interesting way. Again facilities excellent. Overall I had tots amaze balls time at the lodge this weekend between the two course :) thanks to the instructors over the weekend !
Sarah Sigley Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 20/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Did the course straight on after the intro to navigation course the day before and that worked really well. A good mixture of being able to practice skills learnt and build on them but so much that was too much to take on.
Got to try the chocolate Guinness cake and loved it!
Fiona Berrie Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 20/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This is a very useful follow on from Intro To Navigation. Jess was a very informed and patient instructor, taking time to make sure that everyone understood each stage of each task. Everything was taught clearly and supportively. The afternoon on the hill gave us the chance to practise the various procedures in a safe environment. I definitely recommend this course. And the cake was a bonus!
Marj Adams Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 21/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I did not stay so cannot comment on the accommodation and I only had the packed lunch. The course taught me what i wanted to know and was excellent. Will definitely do the improvers course in the future.
Neil Goodall Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 19/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I found the course extremely interesting and relevant. The instructors were both very friendly and knowledgeable. Adapted and tailored course to the group really well. I was slightly nervous about learning nav but they put me completely at ease. Facilities and catering excellent !
Sarah Sigley Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 20/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It was exactly what I was looking for and will be back next year for the next course. Johnny was an excellent instructor working with my group at our pace.
Susan Smith Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 19/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course taken by two very good instructions in terms of learning and patience.
Great location with surroundings and accommodation. Lots of cake which is always good.
Only thing would be to have firmer pillows but very small point.
Fiona Berrie Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 20/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course - well taught in manageable stages, building up to more difficult ideas. Everything was explained clearly and demonstrated with a "hands on" approach. I definitely recommend it!
Marj Adams Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 21/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great assessment...run well from start to finish. On site accommodation and food great. Good weather was an unexpected bonus.
Ian MacLeod Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 18/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A really good week, great bunch of people and two laid back but switched on assessors. Accommodation, food and facilities all 10/10. The drying room alone is worth a million dollars and we had a dry week! Why would you go any where else?
Allison Brown Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 19/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The instructor Mick was great and Glenmore Lodge is such a comfortable & friendly place to be based.
Really enjoyed the course and the way it was run.
Nick May Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 12/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
It was a great day at the lodge.
Claudia Zeiske Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 12/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really useful and informative course. Mick was a brilliant instructor, really enthusiastic and gave us a number of practical exercises to help put the basics of navigation into practice and commit them to memory. By the end of the day I felt confident that I could use a compass when out walking and could navigate better using the contour lines on a map.
Louise Wright Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 12/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was a challenging but very well organised course. The two instructors involved were extremely experienced.
Sandy Scott Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 27/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Robert Shankland Safe Ropework And Gear Placement Reviewed on 21/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Overall I was very impressed with the whole setup. I will be back again.

A similar course for winter gear placement would be good.

Niall Murphy Safe Ropework And Gear Placement Reviewed on 21/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course, the breadth of experience of the combined staff is staggering.
Iain Smith Mountaineering Instructor Award Assessment Reviewed on 13/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really enjoyed the course, thought the balance between climbing and skills was about right and in particular I though the instructor Johannes was excellent.
Christopher Jack Discover Rock Climbing (2 Day) Reviewed on 02/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was a hugely enjoyable course. The instruction was faultless, enthusiastically delivered and carefully geared to the ability of the student. This was a hugely enjoyable course.
T Buchan Discover Rock Climbing (2 Day) Reviewed on 01/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
As a hillwalker I was probably under prepared for the physically demanding activity of scrambling. Despite this I enjoyed each days activity and the instructors tailored events around the groups capabilities. The experience has given me some confidence in my skills and has confirmed for me what I find enjoyable and my limitations in the outdoors.
Kay Morgan Discover Skye Scrambing - Non Residential (5 days) Reviewed on 31/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Peter Ridges Discover Skye Scrambing - Non Residential (5 days) Reviewed on 30/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A brilliant experience, well-organised and rewarding on every level. A great deal of planning and flexibility meant we all gained experience, had fun, and were given inspiration and confidence for future scrambling. Jon and Bill hit the perfect balance between reassurance, instruction, and giving us a wee shove to make the most of ourselves every time. Plus great guys to hang out with on our short but enjoyable refuelling sessions. Can't praise this course and its instructors highly enough. And Skye is nae bad either.
Charlie Ritchie Discover Skye Scrambing - Non Residential (5 days) Reviewed on 01/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I cannot find fault with the course it was one of the most enjoyable 5 days to have in the cairngorms. The weather was good and our instructor was great and very helpful. I now have the confidence to go into natures playground knowing I can find my way home even when I can't see where I am going. Brilliant, highly recommend.
Andrew Nunn Discover Hill & Mountain Skills Reviewed on 24/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant! Although my legs would say otherwise, I would happily do it all over again. Our instructor, Jess, was great, informative, patient and with a great sense if humour to put up with us for five days!!!! Couldn't have asked for a better group. Will definitely be returning to Glenmore Lodge.
Ana Maria Aller Discover Hill & Mountain Skills Reviewed on 23/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
David Anderson Mountaineering Instructor Award Assessment Reviewed on 24/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very enjoyable course despite the wet weather & midges!
Anne Milne Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 22/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The day totally met my expectations and I found Nigel to be a really good instructor. He asked about the participants' expectations and preferences and tailored the day to suit. My objective was to feel a bit more confident with a map and compass, and this was achieved. Thank you for a great day.
Caroline Shepherd Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 08/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent all round thank you for a great 2 days.
Duncan Peacock Rock Climbing Instructor Assessment Reviewed on 02/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Another wonderful and well run course at Glenmore Lodge. The instructors and assessors were all extremely knowlegable and approachable and helped make the experience less stressful. I would highly recommend this assessment at the lodge to all qualified people.
Keith Mcdougall Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 02/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Glenmore Lodge is excellent, as usual.
Vincent Launstorfer Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 10/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A great course that was better than expected. My instructor (Kevin) was invaluable and I would come back to Glenmore Lodge to pursue climbing with him. The whole experience at Glenmore was faultless and you will be sure to see me again in the near future. Thank you
Jacob Lee U18 - Intro to Lead Climb Reviewed on 27/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Will recommend to others, good experience.
Allison Brown Summer Mountain Leader Refresher Reviewed on 22/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A novel and very helpful approach to navigation, excellent instruction tailored to groups needs.
I strongly recommend this course.
Tom Heneghan Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 20/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I had a great day. Enjoyed the course and instructor was great. I look forward to attending another course soon.
Vanessa Pirie Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 07/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent SPA course, nice to be over 3 days. Andy Townsend is very knowledgeable and good at bringing across content.

I couldn't have asked for better training course mates, all excited to learn and practise every last second. My first experience of Glenmore Lodge, I would recommend it highly, free tea and coffee on tap, and cake in the afternoon. Nice room and I lucked out on a room to my own, clean and tidy with a lovely ensuite. I can't wait to come back for another stay...
Ian Bowles Rock Climbing Instructor Training Reviewed on 05/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
With such a wide subject I thought the assessors made every effort to recognize the different experience and areas we had all been working in. A useful and instructive experience.
Bruce Manning International Mountain Leader Summer Assessment (Instruction Only) Reviewed on 06/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Sam Bean Discover Rock Climbing (2 Day) Reviewed on 08/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Catherine Johnson Guided Glen Coe & Ben Nevis Scrambling (3Day) Reviewed on 29/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
lizzie arden Guided Glen Coe & Ben Nevis Scrambling (3Day) Reviewed on 30/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Can't praise Monty highly enough! He's knowledgeable and patient, felt he took time to listen to all of us but also covered everything we wanted to know (and more!) without rushing. Feel so much more confident now on my own in the hills and I know the proper technical terminology, fantastic course!
Judi Ferguson Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 16/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course was excellent and well pitched for me. The instructor was friendly, pleasant, interested, knowledgeable, interesting and encouraging. The outdoor element of the course was cleverly put together to provide good practical experience. The arrangements at Glenmore Lodge are great, with the opportunity to borrow equipment, a packed lunch provided, and a selection of tea and coffee, and cake at the end of the day. A good day.
Joanna Gilliatt Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 15/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I thought the course was excellent and a great help. Monty's instruction and guidance was very clear and just what I wanted.
Thank you!

Elspeth Blackshaw Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 15/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Linda Shand Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 19/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
stephen Murray Trad Climbing Improver Reviewed on 14/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Glen Littlejohn Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 09/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
So glad I took this course! Great value for money and a brilliant day out. I learned much more than I thought I could in one day, on a subject that I had no clue about before the course. Monty is an excellent, expert and engaging instructor and made sure that he addressed everyone's learning objectives. Not only do I now have the confidence to look at and follow a map and plan my own course, I also feel I have a good idea of how to estimate distance and required pace for the activities I want to take part in. Glenmore Lodge is a welcoming, well appointed and impressive venue and I hope to return some time soon. Thanks for making this day course available.
Susan Leonard Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 08/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall


Calummurdo Kennedy Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 08/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Thoroughly enjoyable course - great attitude from the instructor (Mick), who was very adept at managing the group, assessing aims, and generally holding the group's attention 100% of the time. I've already recommended to 3 people!
Glen Littlejohn Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 08/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Instructors were all very knowledgeable and friendly.
Bruce Manning International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 06/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course which ensured that we left with the skills to progress from indoor to outdoor climbing. Our instructor Derek provided us with a varied course content which helped us to develop into better climbers. As usual accomodation, food and staff were outstanding.
Phil Bertin Intro to Sport Climbing Reviewed on 31/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A very well run course that catered for all of the participants needs and requirements. As always, the instruction given was first class with in depth experience and professionalism. Lots packed into the 2 days and I came away fully refreshed in many techniques and practices.
Ian Venables Mountaineering Instructor Award Refresher Reviewed on 28/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I spent an excellent week at the lodge.
The staff are very friendly and professional.
The accommodation and food is at a very high standard and I would recommend Glenmore Lodge to anyone considering any outdoors course/activity
James Mackay Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 24/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course. Jon was a first rate instructors, who lead / guided course participants on challenging routes but where we knew that we were always safe under his supervision / guidance. Recognition must also go to Scott, who through assisting John over the week provided support and encouragement to participants. (He displayed a great deal of knowledge and skills for becoming an excellent instructor).
Nigel James Discover Skye Scrambing - Non Residential (5 days) Reviewed on 20/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Course was excellent, even with bad weather at the start of the week.
Mary Shepherd Discover Skye Scrambing - Non Residential (5 days) Reviewed on 18/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Sandy was excellent, taught everything in a complete but understandable manner, willing to answer any question.
Peter Young Safe Ropework And Gear Placement Reviewed on 11/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course & facilities.

Would return for other courses & recommend to others.
Martin Gray Safe Ropework And Gear Placement Reviewed on 13/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The scrambling course was great. I learnt a lot more than I expected to, and have gained so much more confidence and independence when out. As well as the many technical skills we learnt, Derek and Colin taught us how to assess situations, choose routes, and stay safe. Brilliant instructors, beautiful scenery, excellent value for money.
Lucy Manson Guided Glen Coe & Ben Nevis Scrambling (3Day) Reviewed on 01/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Lynne Murray Guided Glen Coe & Ben Nevis Scrambling (3Day) Reviewed on 10/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This course successfully provided instruction on risk assessment, route finding, moving on rock to minimise possibility of slips or falls without safety equipment, and use of safety equipment (when required or requested) from simple rope-only methods to harness / carabiner / belay device / rope. I was 100% confident in the ability of the instructors to keep us safe while on exposed and exciting routes.
Ian Wattie Guided Glen Coe & Ben Nevis Scrambling (3Day) Reviewed on 10/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I had an excellent week on the Glen Coe and Lochaber scrambling. I learned a lot and we covered a range of demanding scrambles.

Our two instructors (Derek and Colin) were quite outstanding and were keen to support our developing our skills and confidence.

Would highly recommend
James Paton Guided Glen Coe & Ben Nevis Scrambling (3Day) Reviewed on 10/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A great course, very useful, interesting, fun and a real confidence boost and very inspiring. All staff friendly and helpful. A big thanks to Kevin the instructor
Eamonn Flood Summer Mountain Leader Refresher Reviewed on 07/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Educational, friendly and enjoyable
Alan Smith Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 05/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course for both days has given me the skills to improve my navigation with confidence. Keith was very knowledgeable and didn't hesitate to go over points again.

All members of staff were helpful and friendly.
Lucy Turner Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 06/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor