Customer reviews - what you say about Glenmore Lodge

A truly magnificent experience
King Graeme Rannoch Crossing by Open Canoe Reviewed on 26/08/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Awesome week. Saw a great uplift in my confidence and ability levels.
Walker Kevin Improver White Water Kayak Reviewed on 18/08/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Exceeded any expectations I had. A really incredible and superb experience in spectacular locations.
Liz W Intro Sea Kayaking (5 Day) Reviewed on 28/07/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
It was a great course that has given me both the enthusiasm and confidence to continue with Open Canoeing.
Winch Peter BC Canoe Award Reviewed on 01/07/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very enjoyable and memorable trip
Jones Brian Great Glen Crossing Kayak Expedition (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/06/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course from start to finish.
Tait Stuart Discover Paddlesport (2 Day) Reviewed on 02/07/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The organisation was first rate, the accommodation and food excellent. Just can't fault it in any way
Walsh Joan Discover Paddlesport (2 Day) Reviewed on 05/06/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Well organised, well taught, relaxed but purposeful. An outstanding week.
Willetts Simon Intro Sea Kayaking (5 Day) Reviewed on 27/05/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course; very highly recommended. Good value for money.
Mike Forrester Introduction to Open Canoeing (5 day) Reviewed on 02/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I was a little surprised that you ran the course for one person and I was a little apprehensive about two days of rolling but I was pleased in the end so thankyou.
Desmond McGee Improver Rolling Clinic - White Water Reviewed on 30/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent introduction to rolling; well-paced, mixed methods, gives a thorough understanding of the component parts of a roll and ample opportunity to practice with feedback and support. I strongly recommend this course to anyone wanting to get to grips with rolling.
Paula Nichols Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 23/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Amazing course and really well led.
Derek Page Discover White Water Kayak (2 Day) Reviewed on 16/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great location, plenty of opportunities to be taken out of my comfort zone.
Anne Hay Improver Sea Kayak - Summer Isles (5 Day) Reviewed on 14/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I had never been in a sea kayak before so was surprised how much I learnt and could put into practice in 2 days training.
Les Houlker Discover Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 26/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent 5 day course with first class instruction, great company and fantastic scenery.
Fiona McKillop Intro Sea Kayaking (5 Day) Reviewed on 17/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Patrick Kearns Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 13/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was a brilliant course. I improved lots of skills and became more confident on the water. Great instructor. It was really useful to be able to use the rolling pool in the evenings.
Beverley Wood Improver White Water Kayak Reviewed on 10/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
One of the best learning experiences of my life. Our instructor Jools was not only an amazing teacher but the passion he has for open canoe was addictive.
Tobias Leask BC Canoe Award Reviewed on 03/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Possibly the best course I've been on. The pace was great, the group gelled really well, trips were well selected to offer us the right level of challenge and learning experiences. Lots if laughter and learning...I had a brilliant week. Great I got my award but sad its over.
leigh murray BC Canoe Award Reviewed on 03/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Highly recommended to get a taste of loch, river as well as sea paddling.

To get the best out of most things, you need to put in the effort, often, a measure or two of good guidance goes a long way. Giles was a fountain of information, and has done many amazing things which inspired confidence when we faced a challenge or two during the week. We had tremendous fun, learnt a lot, and I’ve been inspired to seek more paddlesport activity (not so easy ‘down-South’). I look forward to returning to Glenmore Lodge and Scotland again.

The Lodge was a great base to return to everyday.
Colin Barbour Discover Paddlesport Touring (5 Day) Reviewed on 28/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A thoroughly enjoyable and inspiring course.
Louise Henderson British Canoeing Coach Core Training Reviewed on 18/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I passed, which alays puts things in a better light. But even if I had not the staff made it a few days packed with additional learning and the Lodge atmosphere (and beer!) made it easy to relax and enjoy the experience as much as is possible at an assessment.
Edward Lawson BC Canoe Leader - Assessment Reviewed on 18/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This course was really excellent and I could not be more happy with how everything went. Thank you. All the staff were very helpful, welcoming and friendly, and the overall experience was great. It was my firs experience at Glenmore Lodge and I would definitely seek to attend more courses there, not to mention taking advantage of the B&B accommodation on future occasions. The way the weekend was organised was very slick (i.e. the welcome talk, then picking up the kit, then the chat with the instructor, etc).
Paula Barratt Intro Open Canoe Open Water (2 Day) Reviewed on 08/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I have L1 and 3* sea but have never done white water. Unsure if this was the course for me I phoned and after a lengthy discussion was told it probably was. I have to say whoever I spoke to was absolutely spot on with her understanding of skills I already had and those I would need to get me where I wanted to be. Enthusiastic and professional staff in all areas who were always happy to help. Thank you Glenmore staff. You are what makes the learning fun. I will definitely be back.
Deborah Blair Intro to White Water Kayak (5 Days) Reviewed on 29/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A good 'week' - no doubt helped by excellent weather. I learned a lot (my main aim), and enjoyed myself and the camaraderie of the other group members.
Tom Leatherland Improver Sea Kayak - Summer Isles (5 Day) Reviewed on 30/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Gareth Williams BC Foundation Safety & Rescue Reviewed on 31/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Caroline Langdon Discover Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 24/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, accommodation & location.
Pete Barber Discover Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 28/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really good and enjoyable course (despite some wet and windy weather) which improved my skills and built my confidence in rougher sea conditions, and left me keen to sign up for more kayaking adventures! I want to surf some more waves! Good to meet up and enjoy the company of other outdoor enthusiasts too!
Chris Gordon Intermediate Sea Kayaking - Skye Reviewed on 26/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I've given 5 stars all through because I had no complaints about any aspect...I would have liked a couple more days though!
Jane Sargent Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 24/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I was the least experienced member of the group but was made to feel welcome and given first class instruction and guidance in great locations.
Peter Thorpe Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very enjoyable and constructive course.
Julian Donnelly/KathGill Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good instructor. Approached teaching from several different angles. With the perfect amount of encouragement given to each student.
Phil Gudgin Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 24/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
It was an enjoyable course - and our instructor was very good with everyone
julian voge Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 02/12/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A great week on a different river every day starting with a get to know each other and the guides/coaches on the Avon then progressing to the Orchy at a high level. Our group was watched over and guided by Matt Haydock who knew just how far to push us and was always there with advice and tips to help us improve and bolster confidence in a very calm and reassuring way.When getting back to the Lodge what's better than a hot shower and excellent food. Thanks Glenmore Lodge and Matt
Philip Toth Grand Rivers Kayaking Tour (Intermediate) Reviewed on 22/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
brian endean Grand Rivers Kayaking Tour (Intermediate) Reviewed on 04/12/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic week of kayaking thanks to instructors Giles and Matt for being such great coaches and river guides. I'll definitely recommend this course to anyone
Peter Bennett Grand Rivers Kayaking Tour (Intermediate) Reviewed on 22/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Graeme did a great job rebuilding the roll with drills and video feedback and knew how and when to challenge us and when to allow rest and recovery to maintain progress and roll development. Rooms and food as great as ever.
Robin Mcbride Improver Rolling Clinic - Sea Reviewed on 12/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Martin Klinge Advanced White Water Kayak Reviewed on 10/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Jamie MacManaway BC Advanced White Water Kayak Leader - Training Reviewed on 01/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent! I learnt much and had a great time while doing so.
Hugh Ellacott Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A great week! Mark was an excellent instructor managing the different levels in the group well and ensuring everyone got what they wanted from the week. I lacked confidence in my white water skills in a canoe but left the week feeling like I could tackle a grade 2 river on my own. Accommodation/food was excellent. Thanks for a great week and thanks to mark for challenging and encouraging us throughout.
Helen Denny Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic instructor, who made the most of the poor conditions-next time please ensure that there is more water around ;-)
Phil Gudgin Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 26/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Apologies if I booked on the wrong level of course - I clearly had significantly less experience that the others in the group. Having said that, I felt the instructor did a great job at handling / coaching a mixed ability group.
Lindsay Evans Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course which I thoroughly enjoyed. It was very well structured and presented by Kate. I particularly appreciated the way in which we were challenged in a way which felt supportive rather than critical. Importantly for me we also had some humour and fun. Finally, I was pleased with the feedback and action plan in that it confirmed most of own thoughts about the areas which I need to practice before attending an assessment.
Alan Jones BC Sea Kayak Leader - Training Reviewed on 22/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent two-day course.

Mick Hunter went from the basics of rolling to teaching 5 out of his 6 students to roll successfully in a weekend. Firstly, I have to comment on Mick's approach to safety; the capsize, escape and rescue techniques were taught well and with the importance they required. I will be using these extensively during future training sessions. Mick's ability to explain, demonstrate and instruct was superb, as was the way he organised our time in the classroom against our time in the pool. He listened to our specific requirements for rolling and taught the appropriate methods accordingly. Approachable and professional, Mick is a first-class instructor.

The accommodation was beyond reproach, better than many hotels I have stayed in. Nice view from the room too.

My only complaint with the food was that at breakfast time, bacon and sausage were not available on the same day. But I was able to cope with this small obstacle and enjoyed every mouthful of the grub provided.

All staff were polite, helpful and cheerful and I was made to feel like a valued student at all times.

I have, and will go on to recommend Glenmore Lodge to my friends as a result of my course.

Thank you.
Simon Lynch Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 20/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Our instructor Mick was excellent, really enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Course content was well tailored to the group taking into account our various different skill levels and aspirations.
Peter Gault Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 25/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course was well designed with classroom observations and discussions being transferred to practical sessions in the pool. Mick Hunter was excellent at breaking down each component of the course then re building them in short sequences which enabled each student to learn at their own pace without feeling left behind. I have had several people attempt to teach me the fundamentals of the roll but none have had the consistent approach that I experienced with Mick Hunter at Glenmore Lodge. Food as always outstanding. Thank you.
Anne Hay Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 20/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Despite no rain instructors Simon and Giles made this an excellent week with different rivers and challenges each day. I thought Simon did brilliantly In adapting his advice and challenges to each paddler in the intermediate group depending on our goals and paddling experience. Thanks for a great week!
Mari T West Coast Kayaking (Intermediate) Reviewed on 11/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was a super course. I came with a roll but wanted to add an 'offside' roll. I didn't quite manage it but have some things to work on and am confident I'll succeed.
Duncan Collier Improver Rolling Clinic - Sea Reviewed on 06/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course-just what I was hoping for!
Lesley McIntyre Introduction to Open Canoeing (5 day) Reviewed on 04/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course, excellent instruction and advice both Dave and Tom were full of advice and put everyone at ease
Bob Dumbell BC Advanced Canoe Leader - Training Reviewed on 03/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
All excellent as always.
George Fell British Canoeing Performance Sea Kayak Coach - Training Reviewed on 30/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really great weekend, great food, well planned and delivered. Many thanks to Dave and all the team at the lodge.

Neville Elstone Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Non Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great weekend of paddling and conversation. Learnt loads and the food was great!
Stephanie Stephenson Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 04/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Having attended many of these events, I expect everything to do with the symposium to be both fun and of a high standard. I was not disappointed. The coaching was first class, the staff both friendly and helpful and the accommodation and food were excellent. We will be back!
Graham Robertson Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Good all round . Will come again and recommend to friends.
Matt Aspden Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant. Can't fault it at all. Will be coming again
paul binks Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Superb all round!
Robert Maddock Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Ken McIlroy Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Coaches and whole event excellent, thanks guys. The team in the canteen need a special mention - the food was unbelievably good, generous, tasty and good choice. Will definitely return!
Giles Blessed Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Marion Carracher Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Top rate!
Paul Fulbrook Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Ken Nicol Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 01/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Thought everything was great...would like to have had the wifi signal extended to the chalets but its a very minor thing
Antony Marsh Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Two superb days, one with Mick Hunter on the Moray Firth (seals, dolphins, shags, etc) and then the second a calmer but nonetheless absorbing day on Loch Morlich working on 'trad tricks with sticks and strings'. A very good atmosphere for the whole symposium.
Julian Fulbrook Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Another very good weekend symposium.
Arthur Green Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 05/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good all round. Very happy. Thanks
Magnus Paterson Discover River Touring Week (5 Day) Reviewed on 04/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I had a great week on "course" - the instructor adapted to our requirements (and was happy to do so) - she catered for our mixed requirements and all our group were comfortable with the outcome.

Louis Pinto Discover River Touring Week (5 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course that the coach adapted very well to meet the needs of the group.
Paul Fulbrook Discover River Touring Week (5 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Gill Berrow absolutely excellent in every way, particularly in encouraging our younger colleagues. Superbly knowledgeable, very patient, and full of suggestions for the personal development of everyone in the group. Well worth the very long trek north.
Julian Fulbrook Discover River Touring Week (5 Day) Reviewed on 27/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Gladys Law BC Sea Kayak Award & Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 06/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An intensive but very rewarding week - ample opportunity to consolidate skills including the dreaded roll. Giles provided excellent instruction and support throughout. Thoroughly recommended.
Alan Rollo BC Sea Kayak Award & Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 28/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course was brilliant, it was good to try something new and the instructors made me feel less anxious about trying new things. The other people on the course were supportive and we all helped each other.

The food was very good and in good quantity. As a vegetarian the choices available to me were also really good. Meals were a definite highlight.
Jenny Missen Discover Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 24/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent instruction, facilities & food.

Paul McCulloch Discover Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 22/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
JIM DUFFUS Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 22/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course was great and the instructor was awesome, able and willing to tailor the course contents to our needs.
Caroline Laroche BC White Water Kayak Leader - Training Reviewed on 22/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course and thoroughly enjoyable. I learnt absolutely loads and felt a huge benefit for attending. Doug is as always an exceptional instructor who makes learning fun and easy to digest.

I look forward to progressing through further courses in future.
Will Copestake BC Advanced Sea Kayak Leader - Training Reviewed on 10/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course in the perfect location. Planned it and paddled it! You cannot ask for more than that. The standard of instruction, equipment and challenging venue all added up to a great learning experience. Thanks
MC BC Advanced Sea Kayak Leader - Training Reviewed on 10/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Doug was a great course provider, really enthusiastic & supportive. The level 3 course - including the core training - doesn't add much to the coaching process compared to the wealth of new techniques between level 1 & level 2, although the intermediate module that I did (coaching the mind, again at Glenmore) was very useful in this respect.
Ben Mahe British Canoeing Performance White Water Kayak Coach - Training Reviewed on 22/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Didn't use the accommodation, though I will next time!
Really excellent course, pitched at just the right level for me. Ian is a skilled instructor with an infectious enthusiasm for the outdoors (and bagpipes). Gear and food were high quality. Don't change a thing! Sure I'll be back for another course in the future. Many thanks, Scott.
Scott Nixon Intro to White Water Kayak (5 Days) Reviewed on 31/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
To the Glenmore team,

Just a quick message to say thank you for such a fanstastic week.

Everything about the lodge including the facility, accommodation, equipment and food was excellent.

We would also like to say a special thank you to Iain our instructor who was first class. His knowledge, experience, support, organisation, encouragement and enthusiasm helped us all to have great fun, great memories and a fabulous time (he even arranged sunny weather!)

Thanks again - we'll be back.

Mark, Owen and William Tuckwell
Mark Tuckwell Intro to White Water Kayak (5 Days) Reviewed on 01/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A fantastic week on Skye - I was a bit nervous before hand but instruction was excellent throughout and I gained a lot of confidence in dealing with rougher conditions. Stunning locations, caves, sea stacks, amazing views across to the Outer Hebrides, otters, dolphins, seals. I would definitely go on this course again and recommend it to anyone who has been on the improver course and wishes to gain experience in slightly more challenging conditions.
Alan Rollo Intermediate Sea Kayaking - Skye Reviewed on 30/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Intermediate WW Canoe could be a difficult course to teach as it can cover a huge range of skills. Fortunately the people attending the course seemed to be of a roughly similar level. Gill Berrow pitched the course at the level of the attendees and chose appropriate locations to teach us. She gave us valuable feedback and instruction in canoeing with good explanations and demonstrations. She demonstrated good observational skills and is obviously an excellent paddler.

I hope to come back to Glenmore soon.

Thanks for a great weekend




Alan Telford Intermediate Open Canoe - White Water (2 Day) Reviewed on 25/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Staff very good on arrival and throughout.
The course was adjusted to our level of experience and needs by Mark. We were impressed at the improvement we made in just 2 days, we put this down to his excellent instruction.
There was a good blend of skills training, safety advice, coaching and sheer enjoyment.
Big grins all round as we discovered the joy of ferry gliding the Spey.
Thanks to all involved.
Andrew and Jean
Andrew Martin Discover Open Canoe (2 Day) Reviewed on 19/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Ian Murdoch Discover Paddlesport Touring (5 Day) Reviewed on 27/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Claire Larravide Discover Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 17/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A great course, really enjoyed. GL always has enthusiastic instructors but George 'took it to 11'. I learned a lot more then just the course requirements and the instructors took every opportunity to cram more learning in. Good variety of teaching and learning methods used too. Oh! I passed too!
Ant Mayer BC Paddle Explore Reviewed on 10/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Had the most amazing time and didn't want course to finish. Was really challenged and learned so many new skills. Instructors & equipment were 1st class. Course was very well planned and I loved seeing new parts of Scotland. Made new friends and enjoyed the evening activities. Food amazing! Thanks Glenmore Lodge.

Julia Smith U18 - Intro to White Water Kayak Reviewed on 09/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Josh loved the week and can not wait to come back next year. Thank you for providing him with this opportunity.

Thank you for a fantastic week.
Tracey Routley/ Joshua Routley U18 - Intro to White Water Kayak Reviewed on 11/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Thoroughly enjoyed this course!
Conall Dewar U18 - Intro to White Water Kayak Reviewed on 09/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really good and enjoyable great time had great set up an instructors only downside no certificate at end.

Thanks for great week.
John Palombo U18 - Intro to White Water Kayak Reviewed on 27/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
From the star ratings, you can see that Emma had a brilliant time on the White Wayer Kayaking course. Many thanks for providing her with such a great outdoor experience.
Inez Beveridge U18 - Intro to White Water Kayak Reviewed on 07/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I came to Glenmore with my partner to do sea kayaking intro. We had a fantastic weekend from start to finish. Top class facility with very friendly staff. Graham and Peter were our instructors,they were both very good at delivering the course to all the different abilities of people within our group.

We will both be back to build on our new skills very soon and look forward to coming back to Glenmore and being looked after so well.

Regards Kim.Niddrie
Kim Niddrie Discover Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 21/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An outstanding adventure. The instructor Giles Trussell is a top drawer person. He was very helpful, knowledgeable, a good teacher, a very interesting raconteur and great company – as well as getting us down the Spey without any swimming.”
Ken Scoular Spey Descent Canoe Expedition (5 Day) Reviewed on 20/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Benjamin Powell BC White Water Award & Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 20/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
David Adamson BC Coaching The Mind - Intermediate Module Reviewed on 14/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Michael Flynn Intro to White Water Kayak (5 Days) Reviewed on 13/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course at Glenmore Lodge was fantastic. The instructors Giles and Fi were both great and really helped the group improve our level of paddling over the course of the week. The progression of skills and rivers used was spot on. I personally got more than I had expected out of the course and it has really helped me to kickstart my paddling on whitewater, and I am feeling much more confident in the kayak. The staff in general were great and very friendly, and the gear store was stocked with great gear to use. The food was really good and there was plenty of it (the coffee and cake was a great way to end the day). The facilities were great and it is in a fantastic part of the world. What's not to like? I'll be back for another course. Thanks!
Geoff W Intro to White Water Kayak (5 Days) Reviewed on 13/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Highly recommend this course for the infrequent but wanting to be challenged paddler - fantastic experience and great location. Instructors Tristan Benwell and Calum McNicol were brilliant, I felt really safe and supported especially when the sea and weather exceeded my expectations! Great trip thanks to Tristan, Calum and fellow paddlers.
Chris Newsome Improver Sea Kayak - Summer Isles (5 Day) Reviewed on 13/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Another winner from the Lodge. The only reason for rating most things as 4star was that I needed to save something even better for the instructors. As ever they are the reason that, having now been on 5 Lodge courses, I keep coming back for more.
Sandy Macleod Improver Sea Kayak - Summer Isles (5 Day) Reviewed on 12/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Overall the course was excellent and instructors superb. Just the right balance of enjoyment and testing our limits.
James Eccles Improver Sea Kayak - Summer Isles (5 Day) Reviewed on 13/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Both instructors were fantastic, they supported the group to develop skills and improve competence, as well as experience a range of adventurous conditions in safety. People discussed personal objectives and these were met during the course.
Kevin Walker Improver Sea Kayak - Summer Isles (5 Day) Reviewed on 13/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent in all respects.
John Robinson Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 06/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Allan Livingstone Improver White Water Kayak Reviewed on 15/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Giles was fantastic as an instructor and to help push my fear boundary.

The accommodation was amazing and the catering staff were fantastic.

I'll be back very soon, hopefully!
Sonia Furley Improver White Water Kayak Reviewed on 05/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Many thanks to Coach Mike for expert instruction and leadership of our course and assessment, and as ever the rest of the Lodge staff for providing excellent food, accommodation and equipment. 5 Star quality all round!!
Neil Corstorphine BC 2 Star Assessment Reviewed on 30/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
james nicoll BC Canoe Award Reviewed on 28/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I enjoyed and got a lot out of the expedition. I'd also like to award a 5-star rating to the equipment provided. It wasn't until we reached Inverness that Giles told me how much the paddles cost - small wonder that they were so good!
The weather wasn't great for mid-June, and that did have some influence on what we did, but that is outwith human control. We made the most of it.
The coaching I got when the water was calm on day 5 was particularly appreciated.

Tom Leatherland Great Glen Crossing Kayak Expedition (5 Day) Reviewed on 21/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Thank you to the whole team for having organised such a great stay and a special thanks to Fi for being an amazing coach. I really hope I will get the chance to come back and would strongly recommend the lodge to anyone looking at learning or developing skills in an outdoor sport.

SEBASTIEN MORELLE Intro to White Water Kayak (5 Days) Reviewed on 25/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Thomas Powell BC Sea Kayak Award & Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 21/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This 2 day course is an excellent introduction to paddlesports. With expert coaching and leadership, recognising the aspirations of each of the course members, we very soon gelled together and by the end of the second day we were paddling together as a confident group, planning our next kayak adventures. Many thanks to Coach Graeme and the rest of the Lodge staff for delivering the highest quality in all aspects.
Neil Corstorphine Discover Paddlesport (2 Day) Reviewed on 09/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Victoria Macdonald BC Sea Kayak Leader - Assessment Reviewed on 15/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course was everything I wanted, with loads of input into my skills and leadership. Dave catered brilliantly to my individual needs within the group.
Laura Bennitt BC White Water Kayak Leader - Training Reviewed on 19/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course that taught me loads about safety.
Laura Bennitt BC White Water Safety & Rescue Reviewed on 19/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Dan Morgan Discover Open Canoe (2 Day) Reviewed on 02/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course - fantastic training, good kit, excellent learning environment. Will be back.
Andrew Beedle Discover Open Canoe (2 Day) Reviewed on 04/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Had an absolutely excellent week. The staff at the Lodge were very helpful, the food was plentiful and tasty. The course and instructor were great, the instruction started with a gentle introduction, but by the end of the week we were tackling challenging water ourselves, with tips and pointers where we needed them.
Gavin Wheeler Introduction to Open Canoeing (5 day) Reviewed on 15/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I can honestly say the open canoe course and everything that went along with it was outstanding. The entire experience at the Lodge was brilliant from time of arrival, assistance from staff, food and accommodation. The quality of the equipment was superb and the staff at stores were very helpful at all times and like everyone I encountered they could not do enough to ensure your needs were catered for and met. I do have to single out Giles who provided excellent instruction and tuition throughout the entire course. Awesome in a canoe and his relaxed and warm approach to his students really made the course memorable.

In summary an immensely positive experience and I will be back again in the near future for another course and would certainly recommend it to family and friends. I did feel that Glenmore Lodge provides a bigger experience that just the course itself and I like the general ethos and approach of the place. An awesome week!
Steven Stewart Introduction to Open Canoeing (5 day) Reviewed on 31/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
If I could give this course more than 5 stars overall, I would do so. No faults whatsoever. Giles, the instructor, was patient, informative, laidback (and needed to be with the lack of my paddling skills!). All the instruction was top class and I left with a new sense of confidence and loads to practice. Couldn't recommended this course highly enough. It was spot on, and Giles, I will be back to haunt you on the intermediate course. Cheers to all the staff who were super helpful.
Jason Graham Introduction to Open Canoeing (5 day) Reviewed on 31/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course with great instruction from Graeme. Good content overall. Great food and accommodation.
Fiona Craig Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 26/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I really enjoyed the course. We had plenty of time in the pool and our instructor, Graham, was extremely patient and helpful. He had loads of different techniques for us to try.
Iain Macdonald Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 26/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course as always.
Laura Bennitt British Canoeing Performance Sea Kayak Coach - Training Reviewed on 25/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great food, accommodation and coaching.

Excellent value for money with top notch coaching.

Thanks
Stephen Foley British Canoeing Performance Sea Kayak Coach - Training Reviewed on 25/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Alistair Dawson Improver Sea Kayak - Summer Isles (5 Day) Reviewed on 30/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course well lead
richard knowles Discover Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 21/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Thankyou for a great weekend. We were very impressed with our instructors, the way they tailored course to our needs and adapted things to suit weather conditions. We definitely feel more confident now. It was a shame time was short for theory session but otherwise excellent.
Malcolm Allan Discover Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 19/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Graeme and Peter were excellent - clearly very experienced and able to give all 10 participants what they wanted and needed. Initial discussion followed by the pool session settles a lot of anxieties and allowed everyone to get the most from their course. The fact we could not get on the sea because of weather in no way detracted, rather I think it enhanced the training for everyone. Great fun!
Clark Dreghorn Discover Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 19/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Good course, friendly people, competent supervision and concise "curriculum".
Wulf Stratling Intro to White Water Kayak (5 Days) Reviewed on 18/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Loved everything about the course. It would be good to be able to book a single room when initially boking and paying for the course.
Derek Greenhorn Intro to White Water Kayak (5 Days) Reviewed on 22/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Thank you for a perfect week on the island of skye. it was "lovely" ;-)
Hannes Wittmann Intermediate Sea Kayaking - Skye Reviewed on 17/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall

 

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.