Customer reviews - what you say about Glenmore Lodge

Great place! Amazing location, Welcoming staff and excellent assessment course.
Graham Still Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 11/08/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Glenmore Lodge was my number one venue of choice, with the whole week surpassing expectations, whether the course, quality of instruction or the venue, facilities and great food. A huge thank you to all the staff at Glenmore Lodge for your high standards, welcoming approach and safe hands.
Stone Matthew Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 26/06/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I had a wonderful few days at the lodge and would recommend it to everyone.
Lunn Emily Discover Hill & Mountain Skills Reviewed on 13/06/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A fantastic introduction to wild camping with first class instruction
Wilson David Learn to Wild Camp Reviewed on 07/05/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Made to feel incredibly welcome by all staff involved, wonderful facilities and the course was very informative and at a good pace.
Wrightson Leanne Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 29/08/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Top notch delivery, course content and venue.
Speight Neil Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 26/06/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course which should be a must for all hillwalkers.
Stewart Ronnie Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 17/04/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Overall a great course with lots to take in. The breadth of experience amongst the others on the course made for a great learning atmosphere with everyone willing to contribute.
Ray Allwood International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 07/11/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course providing lots of great ideas for teaching navigation, particularly for beginners.
Kay Anderson National Navigation Award Scheme (NNAS) Tutor Award Course Reviewed on 31/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Glenmore lodge's facilities, experienced trainers and excellent range of kit made it a fantastic place to go and learn and have fun
nicholas roxburgh Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 03/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good and would strongly recommend people do this immediately after the intro course. This course lets you consolidate skills you learned the previous day and also lets you learn new ones. I think people who only attended the improvers' course missed out.
maggie neilson 2 Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 06/09/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Absolutely fantastic, I learnt so much and cannot wait to be back for assessment.
Stephen Hopwood Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 29/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was far and away the highest quality training that I have ever received. The centre is mind-blowingly good, the course very well deigned and the instructors of the highest calibre.
John Gilmour Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 30/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really well tought course, centre well equipped, everyone friendly, easy to reach incl. public transport
Ute Davies Discover Hill & Mountain Skills Reviewed on 21/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course, well worth doing and I would recommend anyone to take part if they want to develop their outdoors skills
steven rees Mountaineering Instructor Award Training Reviewed on 16/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This is a great place to do your assessment. The instructors work hard to put you at your ease whilst getting the best from you. They give good feedback during and after the assessment. And the mountains are great...
Peter Coville Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great one day course that was tailored for the small group
Alison Smith Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 18/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Very knowledgeable instructors who gauged the group knowledge to deliver information and content to enrich our knowledge. Excellent attention to the safety aspect and the both led by example!
Milena Zaharieva Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 06/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course, instructors, food and accommodation! Really inspired!
Kirsten Ross Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 06/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Absolutely excellent course, brilliant instructors (Sandy Patterson and Colin Reilly), lot's of learning, brilliant venue and the catering was 2nd to none!
Drew Pountney Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 06/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Mark Lawton International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 01/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
You pay for the best and you get the best. Excellent facilities, inspirational staff.
Lawrence Tring Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 22/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A very well organised week.
Christopher Wood Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 23/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very informative, well delivered course by excellent instructors who made learning a pleasure. Thanks to Bill, Phil and the other candidates for a great week and the staff at Glenmore Lodge; the perfect location.
Cathy Bow Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 16/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, very good instructors, well run.
Daniel Day Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 11/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great day, great instructor, great fellow trainees. As you can I tell I really enjoyed myself. Thanks for putting this on. I'll be back for the advanced course as soon as the weather warms up a bit :)
Martin Morrison Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 30/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Food & Drink
Overall
Stuart Mapp International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 08/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Allan Hunn International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 08/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, lots of very useful info and the wide experience of candidates was as much part of the learning. Thank you Nigel and all Lodge staff.
David Howie International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 11/11/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great five days at the Lodge on a Summer ML assessment. Great food, great facilities, excellent instructors. Will definitely be back!
Jamie MacManaway Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 26/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Peter Liston Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 25/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic follow on from intro to navigation. Jess was a fantastic instructor and very encouraging. Managed to meet requirements fully in a fun and interesting way. Again facilities excellent. Overall I had tots amaze balls time at the lodge this weekend between the two course :) thanks to the instructors over the weekend !
Sarah Sigley Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 20/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Did the course straight on after the intro to navigation course the day before and that worked really well. A good mixture of being able to practice skills learnt and build on them but so much that was too much to take on.
Got to try the chocolate Guinness cake and loved it!
Fiona Berrie Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 20/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This is a very useful follow on from Intro To Navigation. Jess was a very informed and patient instructor, taking time to make sure that everyone understood each stage of each task. Everything was taught clearly and supportively. The afternoon on the hill gave us the chance to practise the various procedures in a safe environment. I definitely recommend this course. And the cake was a bonus!
Marj Adams Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 21/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I did not stay so cannot comment on the accommodation and I only had the packed lunch. The course taught me what i wanted to know and was excellent. Will definitely do the improvers course in the future.
Neil Goodall Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 19/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I found the course extremely interesting and relevant. The instructors were both very friendly and knowledgeable. Adapted and tailored course to the group really well. I was slightly nervous about learning nav but they put me completely at ease. Facilities and catering excellent !
Sarah Sigley Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 20/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It was exactly what I was looking for and will be back next year for the next course. Johnny was an excellent instructor working with my group at our pace.
Susan Smith Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 19/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course taken by two very good instructions in terms of learning and patience.
Great location with surroundings and accommodation. Lots of cake which is always good.
Only thing would be to have firmer pillows but very small point.
Fiona Berrie Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 20/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course - well taught in manageable stages, building up to more difficult ideas. Everything was explained clearly and demonstrated with a "hands on" approach. I definitely recommend it!
Marj Adams Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 21/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great assessment...run well from start to finish. On site accommodation and food great. Good weather was an unexpected bonus.
Ian MacLeod Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 18/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A really good week, great bunch of people and two laid back but switched on assessors. Accommodation, food and facilities all 10/10. The drying room alone is worth a million dollars and we had a dry week! Why would you go any where else?
Allison Brown Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 19/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The instructor Mick was great and Glenmore Lodge is such a comfortable & friendly place to be based.
Really enjoyed the course and the way it was run.
Nick May Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 12/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
It was a great day at the lodge.
Claudia Zeiske Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 12/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really useful and informative course. Mick was a brilliant instructor, really enthusiastic and gave us a number of practical exercises to help put the basics of navigation into practice and commit them to memory. By the end of the day I felt confident that I could use a compass when out walking and could navigate better using the contour lines on a map.
Louise Wright Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 12/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was a challenging but very well organised course. The two instructors involved were extremely experienced.
Sandy Scott Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 27/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course, the breadth of experience of the combined staff is staggering.
Iain Smith Mountaineering Instructor Award Assessment Reviewed on 13/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I cannot find fault with the course it was one of the most enjoyable 5 days to have in the cairngorms. The weather was good and our instructor was great and very helpful. I now have the confidence to go into natures playground knowing I can find my way home even when I can't see where I am going. Brilliant, highly recommend.
Andrew Nunn Discover Hill & Mountain Skills Reviewed on 24/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant! Although my legs would say otherwise, I would happily do it all over again. Our instructor, Jess, was great, informative, patient and with a great sense if humour to put up with us for five days!!!! Couldn't have asked for a better group. Will definitely be returning to Glenmore Lodge.
Ana Maria Aller Discover Hill & Mountain Skills Reviewed on 23/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
David Anderson Mountaineering Instructor Award Assessment Reviewed on 24/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very enjoyable course despite the wet weather & midges!
Anne Milne Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 22/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The day totally met my expectations and I found Nigel to be a really good instructor. He asked about the participants' expectations and preferences and tailored the day to suit. My objective was to feel a bit more confident with a map and compass, and this was achieved. Thank you for a great day.
Caroline Shepherd Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 08/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Another wonderful and well run course at Glenmore Lodge. The instructors and assessors were all extremely knowlegable and approachable and helped make the experience less stressful. I would highly recommend this assessment at the lodge to all qualified people.
Keith Mcdougall Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 02/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Glenmore Lodge is excellent, as usual.
Vincent Launstorfer Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 10/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Will recommend to others, good experience.
Allison Brown Summer Mountain Leader Refresher Reviewed on 22/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A novel and very helpful approach to navigation, excellent instruction tailored to groups needs.
I strongly recommend this course.
Tom Heneghan Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 20/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I had a great day. Enjoyed the course and instructor was great. I look forward to attending another course soon.
Vanessa Pirie Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 07/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
With such a wide subject I thought the assessors made every effort to recognize the different experience and areas we had all been working in. A useful and instructive experience.
Bruce Manning International Mountain Leader Summer Assessment (Instruction Only) Reviewed on 06/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Can't praise Monty highly enough! He's knowledgeable and patient, felt he took time to listen to all of us but also covered everything we wanted to know (and more!) without rushing. Feel so much more confident now on my own in the hills and I know the proper technical terminology, fantastic course!
Judi Ferguson Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 16/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course was excellent and well pitched for me. The instructor was friendly, pleasant, interested, knowledgeable, interesting and encouraging. The outdoor element of the course was cleverly put together to provide good practical experience. The arrangements at Glenmore Lodge are great, with the opportunity to borrow equipment, a packed lunch provided, and a selection of tea and coffee, and cake at the end of the day. A good day.
Joanna Gilliatt Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 15/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I thought the course was excellent and a great help. Monty's instruction and guidance was very clear and just what I wanted.
Thank you!

Elspeth Blackshaw Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 15/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Linda Shand Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 19/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Glen Littlejohn Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 09/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
So glad I took this course! Great value for money and a brilliant day out. I learned much more than I thought I could in one day, on a subject that I had no clue about before the course. Monty is an excellent, expert and engaging instructor and made sure that he addressed everyone's learning objectives. Not only do I now have the confidence to look at and follow a map and plan my own course, I also feel I have a good idea of how to estimate distance and required pace for the activities I want to take part in. Glenmore Lodge is a welcoming, well appointed and impressive venue and I hope to return some time soon. Thanks for making this day course available.
Susan Leonard Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 08/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall


Calummurdo Kennedy Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 08/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Thoroughly enjoyable course - great attitude from the instructor (Mick), who was very adept at managing the group, assessing aims, and generally holding the group's attention 100% of the time. I've already recommended to 3 people!
Glen Littlejohn Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 08/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Instructors were all very knowledgeable and friendly.
Bruce Manning International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 06/07/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A very well run course that catered for all of the participants needs and requirements. As always, the instruction given was first class with in depth experience and professionalism. Lots packed into the 2 days and I came away fully refreshed in many techniques and practices.
Ian Venables Mountaineering Instructor Award Refresher Reviewed on 28/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I spent an excellent week at the lodge.
The staff are very friendly and professional.
The accommodation and food is at a very high standard and I would recommend Glenmore Lodge to anyone considering any outdoors course/activity
James Mackay Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 24/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A great course, very useful, interesting, fun and a real confidence boost and very inspiring. All staff friendly and helpful. A big thanks to Kevin the instructor
Eamonn Flood Summer Mountain Leader Refresher Reviewed on 07/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Educational, friendly and enjoyable
Alan Smith Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 05/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course for both days has given me the skills to improve my navigation with confidence. Keith was very knowledgeable and didn't hesitate to go over points again.

All members of staff were helpful and friendly.
Lucy Turner Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 06/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic asset for Scotland. Great course to improve confidence.
Ian Mullany Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 05/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The whole weekend was absolutely brilliant. Couldn't have asked for a more knowledgeable, friendly and approachable instructor. Keith really took the time to ensure each of us were building on our current skills and that the weekend's content was suited to our needs. The accommodation was very comfortable (bit cold - couldn't seem to get heating to work in evening, but v warm in morning!). The chef was so helpful with my wheat-free needs and the food was delicious, nutritious and filling for a day on the hills! I'll definitely be back!!
Diana Ellis Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 05/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A really fantastic weekend at Glenmore. The weather wasn't perfect but Keith was flexible with the itinerary to ensure we got the most out of it. Facilities are great and it's particularly helpful to have equipment to borrow from stores. Catering was very good. Thanks for a great weekend.
Joanne Renton Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 05/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Thanks to Monty for a fun and informative day. Lots of useful information provided that will hopefully stop us getting lost on the hills (Sorry Monty - I mean temporarily unsure of our position)

We are considering booking the follow-up course, once be have been out to test what we have learned.

Gail Bultitude Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 05/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Linda Cameron Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 04/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall

 

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.