Customer reviews - what you say about Glenmore Lodge

Another fantastic GL course led by outstanding instructor ( Mike Jones )
Undoubtedly world class courses in exceptional surroundings delivered by the best instructors to be found anywhere.
Watt Iain Advanced Winter Skills Reviewed on 24/03/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course. One of the best I have done.
Roberts Chris Advanced Winter Skills Reviewed on 20/02/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant! First-class instructors were keen to pass on their wealth of knowledge and share their passion for winter climbing. The ability to trial different equipment through the week was fantastic.
Will Winter Climbing (5 Days) Reviewed on 11/02/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course with first class instructors ( KR IST )
Watt Iain Winter Skills (5 Days) Reviewed on 06/02/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Superb, couldn't fault, perfect in every way.
Sharples Mike Intro Winter Skills (2 Day) Reviewed on 30/01/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
We are keen walkers but learned so much more than we ever realised we needed to know!
Great teamwork at Glenmore ensured we had an enjoyable experience from the moment we parked the car to the tea and cake review meeting at the end of our course.
Walton Christine Intro Winter Skills (2 Day) Reviewed on 03/04/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Superb! First Class! Thank you! :)
Polkowska Malgorzata Introduction to Winter Navigation Reviewed on 08/03/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I normally do not do any reviews but these guys definitely deserve it!
The entire lodge is like a well-oiled machine and there really is nothing to complain about. I would go back, for sure!
kristian pedersen Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
First class Assesor input, we were constantly informed of what the day ahead would contain. Sandy and Kev were excellent assessors and very professional.
Gordon Dowling Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Course content and delivery were excellent.
The Lodge staff all pull in the same direction and are all helpful and friendly.
Accommodation is good although the building I thought was a bit too warm.
Bill Dallas Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I wanted a hassle free WML Assessment and with the Lodge's package of food, accommodation and excellent instruction I certainly feel I got my monies worth and had no extra stress than necessary!
Matthew Le Voi Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Absolutely spot on. Would recommend. Would do another Glenmore course without hesitation.
Matthew Flynn Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 20/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A good course that is largely tailored to the groups experience and needs.
Stephen Corlett Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 14/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Michael Facchini Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 26/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Phil Younger Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, excellent instructors.
Neal Hockley Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Anthony Page Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Enjoyed my course and the setting.
Richard Cole Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Columb Strack Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I would have preferred more information pre joining about the first day briefing timetable and what to have packed for the first day on the mountain. Other than that excellent.
Huw Davies Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 06/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good course. Useful to have the instructors talk through their decision making when they changed plans and reacted to the weather. Learnt a lot and hope to do lots more soon.
Frances Grier Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 17/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The overall experience was excellent. The course, accommodation, and instructor were all excellent.
Robert Skilton Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 04/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A challenging and exciting week that taught a lot and pushed me to my limits
Ashley Bennett Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 29/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good developmental experience.
Martin Bray Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 29/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Overall a massively enjoyable course, allowing to be felt at ease throughout
Alexander Kay Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good as usual. The Glenmore package is comprehensive and good value.
Bruce Manning Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course in a good location. High standards as always.
Kirsty Pallas Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 23/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A brilliant experience all round- thoroughly educational, but also great fun.
Daniel Rowlands Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 22/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Even better than expected, thanks!
James Wheeldon Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent.
Simon Todd Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 21/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was a great introduction to winter mountaineering in Scotland and the course was structured to maximise even the worst conditions and weather that Scotland could throw our way... I have returned wanting more and perhaps even to try out winter climbing in the very near future... Highly recommended to anyone - just go for it!
Kirsty-Jane Birch Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 21/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Philip Dale Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 24/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very relaxed assessment that put me at ease in what was quite a stressful experience.
Mark House Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 22/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course was amazing! However it would have been good if our group had been split into the two smaller groups so that we could have had more time with the instructors and able to view the demos more easily. I thoroughly enjoyed the course but feel that I could have learnt more had we split the groups. The lodge itself is excellent, the food amazing and the facilities are brilliant, however it would be good to update the site to show that the sauna is no longer available. This course has been fantastic and I can't wait to do more mountaineering.
Sarah Stead Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 14/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really enjoyed the entire process, very informative and learned loads.
Tom Gallon Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 24/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent, that says it all.
Trevor Hogg Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 15/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Oliver Price Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 20/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course, with loads of new skills, taught by enthusiastic and enormously knowledgeable instructors who were huge fun to be around. Evening lectures and food were terrific. Massively recommended.
Michael Canty Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 14/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
One lecture per night might have been better.
Jonathan Edwards Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 14/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Darren Key Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 14/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A great week, thanks
Iain Airth Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 14/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Mark Tullberg Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 08/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Andrew Hewison Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 08/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Would struggle to find anything at fault with the course, the facilities or staff. Weather is weather and the best was done with what was available.
James King Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 09/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Mark Hughes Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 07/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent! Five full-on days in the stunning Scottish mountains despite some pretty challenging weather conditions.
Sally Woodbridge Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Niall Looney Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Cannot fault this course and the Lodge/staff in general. Total proessionalism from the guides. Bill was outstanding. Attentive, entertaining, inspiring as well as the expected qualities of knowledgeable and professional. I can and will recommend this course and glenmore Lodge to friends for a long time to come
Mike Solan Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 10/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Ben Proudman Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Lots of fun, good revision, great day on the Ben and confidence to tackle some more winter routes. Weather was utterly awful but that's out of our control - might try March next time :-)
Peter Coville West Coast Winter Mountaineering (Non-Residential) Reviewed on 31/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Last minute switch to 5 day winter skills. Can't fault the course, the lodge,the food or the instructor, excellent all round and very lucky with the weather most days. Shame about the sauna but look forward to returning when the refurb is up and running.
Andrew Balme Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 24/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I feel very pleased with the course that i attended at the Lodge. Personable instructors, great knowledge and quality accommodation.

i've been to Glenmore lodge for years and i will be coming back.
Matt Dawson Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 24/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Yue Hin Pong Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 25/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Intensive training course. Plenty of myths about the WML dispelled, some unknown realities explained.
Paul Nolan Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 24/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I feel I entirely got my money's worth.
Thomas Carr-Griffin Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 17/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic and invaluable winter experience with lots of great people.
Sam Merriman Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 18/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Ewan McCormack Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 18/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I perhaps would have gotten more out of this if my fitness was higher. Weather seemed to dictate we spend a lot of time on navigation and avi awareness.
RICK MORTELLRA Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 17/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The five-day course gave us the chance to learn about and practise a comprehensive range of skills.
Andy Hemsted Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 25/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Another informative and fun course at the Lodge, well run by Sandy to accommodate the windy conditions.
Richard Cockburn Winter Mountain Leader Refresher Reviewed on 08/01/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Food & Drink
Overall
I've not done a residential course at the Lodge before but was told 'you won't lose any weight there'. This was true the catering and accommodation and other facilities were first class. The Burn's night supper was excellent- the team in the kitchen did a great job. The 2 days in the classroom and on the hill was time well spent with 2 folk who have a passion for what they are conveying and it was a very useful 2 days education. I will certainly be coming next year just before my planned ML winter assessment. thanks
Ant Mayer MTA Winter CPD Option 1 - Residential Weekend Package Reviewed on 01/02/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really good course led by Keith, I did the avalanche awareness day on the Sunday.
ALASTAIR EWEN MTA Winter CPD Option 4 - Sunday Only Package Reviewed on 27/01/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A well constructed course flexing to the abilities and needs of the attendees, with both theory and practical sessions.
Great course.
Chris Hobson MTA Workshop Snowholing with groups - Saturday Only Reviewed on 26/01/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Jonty Mills MTA Workshop - Winter Navigation Skills Reviewed on 26/01/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Mr Biggar AMI AGM Weekend Accommodation Package Reviewed on 11/01/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Chris Mothersdale AMI AGM Weekend Accommodation Package Reviewed on 16/01/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great weekend
Kevin Edwards AMI AGM Weekend Accommodation Package Reviewed on 21/01/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The whole week-end was just great. Superb facilities; generous and welcoming staff; great organisation; brilliant company
Rodney Pashley AMI AGM Weekend Accommodation Package Reviewed on 12/01/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall

 

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.