Customer reviews - what you say about Glenmore Lodge

A truly magnificent experience
King Graeme Rannoch Crossing by Open Canoe Reviewed on 26/08/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course; very highly recommended. Good value for money.
Mike Forrester Introduction to Open Canoeing (5 day) Reviewed on 02/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This course was really excellent and I could not be more happy with how everything went. Thank you. All the staff were very helpful, welcoming and friendly, and the overall experience was great. It was my firs experience at Glenmore Lodge and I would definitely seek to attend more courses there, not to mention taking advantage of the B&B accommodation on future occasions. The way the weekend was organised was very slick (i.e. the welcome talk, then picking up the kit, then the chat with the instructor, etc).
Paula Barratt Intro Open Canoe Open Water (2 Day) Reviewed on 08/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I've given 5 stars all through because I had no complaints about any aspect...I would have liked a couple more days though!
Jane Sargent Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 24/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I was the least experienced member of the group but was made to feel welcome and given first class instruction and guidance in great locations.
Peter Thorpe Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very enjoyable and constructive course.
Julian Donnelly/KathGill Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent! I learnt much and had a great time while doing so.
Hugh Ellacott Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A great week! Mark was an excellent instructor managing the different levels in the group well and ensuring everyone got what they wanted from the week. I lacked confidence in my white water skills in a canoe but left the week feeling like I could tackle a grade 2 river on my own. Accommodation/food was excellent. Thanks for a great week and thanks to mark for challenging and encouraging us throughout.
Helen Denny Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic instructor, who made the most of the poor conditions-next time please ensure that there is more water around ;-)
Phil Gudgin Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 26/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Apologies if I booked on the wrong level of course - I clearly had significantly less experience that the others in the group. Having said that, I felt the instructor did a great job at handling / coaching a mixed ability group.
Lindsay Evans Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course-just what I was hoping for!
Lesley McIntyre Introduction to Open Canoeing (5 day) Reviewed on 04/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really great weekend, great food, well planned and delivered. Many thanks to Dave and all the team at the lodge.

Neville Elstone Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Non Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great weekend of paddling and conversation. Learnt loads and the food was great!
Stephanie Stephenson Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 04/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Having attended many of these events, I expect everything to do with the symposium to be both fun and of a high standard. I was not disappointed. The coaching was first class, the staff both friendly and helpful and the accommodation and food were excellent. We will be back!
Graham Robertson Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Good all round . Will come again and recommend to friends.
Matt Aspden Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant. Can't fault it at all. Will be coming again
paul binks Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Superb all round!
Robert Maddock Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Ken McIlroy Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Coaches and whole event excellent, thanks guys. The team in the canteen need a special mention - the food was unbelievably good, generous, tasty and good choice. Will definitely return!
Giles Blessed Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Marion Carracher Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Top rate!
Paul Fulbrook Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Ken Nicol Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 01/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Thought everything was great...would like to have had the wifi signal extended to the chalets but its a very minor thing
Antony Marsh Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Two superb days, one with Mick Hunter on the Moray Firth (seals, dolphins, shags, etc) and then the second a calmer but nonetheless absorbing day on Loch Morlich working on 'trad tricks with sticks and strings'. A very good atmosphere for the whole symposium.
Julian Fulbrook Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Another very good weekend symposium.
Arthur Green Open Canoe Symposium 2018 (Residential) (2 Day) Reviewed on 05/10/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Intermediate WW Canoe could be a difficult course to teach as it can cover a huge range of skills. Fortunately the people attending the course seemed to be of a roughly similar level. Gill Berrow pitched the course at the level of the attendees and chose appropriate locations to teach us. She gave us valuable feedback and instruction in canoeing with good explanations and demonstrations. She demonstrated good observational skills and is obviously an excellent paddler.

I hope to come back to Glenmore soon.

Thanks for a great weekend




Alan Telford Intermediate Open Canoe - White Water (2 Day) Reviewed on 25/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Staff very good on arrival and throughout.
The course was adjusted to our level of experience and needs by Mark. We were impressed at the improvement we made in just 2 days, we put this down to his excellent instruction.
There was a good blend of skills training, safety advice, coaching and sheer enjoyment.
Big grins all round as we discovered the joy of ferry gliding the Spey.
Thanks to all involved.
Andrew and Jean
Andrew Martin Discover Open Canoe (2 Day) Reviewed on 19/08/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Dan Morgan Discover Open Canoe (2 Day) Reviewed on 02/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course - fantastic training, good kit, excellent learning environment. Will be back.
Andrew Beedle Discover Open Canoe (2 Day) Reviewed on 04/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Had an absolutely excellent week. The staff at the Lodge were very helpful, the food was plentiful and tasty. The course and instructor were great, the instruction started with a gentle introduction, but by the end of the week we were tackling challenging water ourselves, with tips and pointers where we needed them.
Gavin Wheeler Introduction to Open Canoeing (5 day) Reviewed on 15/06/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I can honestly say the open canoe course and everything that went along with it was outstanding. The entire experience at the Lodge was brilliant from time of arrival, assistance from staff, food and accommodation. The quality of the equipment was superb and the staff at stores were very helpful at all times and like everyone I encountered they could not do enough to ensure your needs were catered for and met. I do have to single out Giles who provided excellent instruction and tuition throughout the entire course. Awesome in a canoe and his relaxed and warm approach to his students really made the course memorable.

In summary an immensely positive experience and I will be back again in the near future for another course and would certainly recommend it to family and friends. I did feel that Glenmore Lodge provides a bigger experience that just the course itself and I like the general ethos and approach of the place. An awesome week!
Steven Stewart Introduction to Open Canoeing (5 day) Reviewed on 31/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
If I could give this course more than 5 stars overall, I would do so. No faults whatsoever. Giles, the instructor, was patient, informative, laidback (and needed to be with the lack of my paddling skills!). All the instruction was top class and I left with a new sense of confidence and loads to practice. Couldn't recommended this course highly enough. It was spot on, and Giles, I will be back to haunt you on the intermediate course. Cheers to all the staff who were super helpful.
Jason Graham Introduction to Open Canoeing (5 day) Reviewed on 31/05/2015
Course Content
Instructor
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall

 

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.