Customer reviews - what you say about Glenmore Lodge

Excellent well delivered assessment from Al. Friendly manner, never felt under too much pressure
Alex Reid UKMBLS Mountain Bike Leader Level 3 Assessment Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent well paced course delivered by experienced BASP instructors who bought with them a wealth of experience from ski patrol, MR and medicine.
Gareth Digges La Touche BASP Advanced First Aid Reviewed on 12/11/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Overall a great course with lots to take in. The breadth of experience amongst the others on the course made for a great learning atmosphere with everyone willing to contribute.
Ray Allwood International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 07/11/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course providing lots of great ideas for teaching navigation, particularly for beginners.
Kay Anderson Ideas for Teaching Navigation Reviewed on 31/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
A very enjoyable course which would be advisable to any keen biker wanting to refresh their skills or learn some new tricks. Can't wait to come for the gold course !
Veshengo Purrum Velotech Mechanics Silver Reviewed on 11/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I found the course to be absolutely spot on, a great introduction to the theory and practise required to move quickly and safely in steep terrain.
PETER MCFADZEAN Intro to Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 04/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course; very highly recommended. Good value for money.
Mike Forrester Intro to Open Canoe (5 day) Reviewed on 02/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Glenmore lodge's facilities, experienced trainers and excellent range of kit made it a fantastic place to go and learn and have fun
nicholas roxburgh Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 03/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course exceeded expectations in all ways from instruction through to accommodation and facilities.
Tanya Karlebach Intro to Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 15/09/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good and would strongly recommend people do this immediately after the intro course. This course lets you consolidate skills you learned the previous day and also lets you learn new ones. I think people who only attended the improvers' course missed out.
maggie neilson 2 Improver Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 06/09/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I was a little surprised that you ran the course for one person and I was a little apprehensive about two days of rolling but I was pleased in the end so thankyou.
Desmond McGee Improver Rolling Clinic - White Water Reviewed on 30/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A really enjoyable course which I left feeling confident in my new skills for scrambling and with enthusiasm for getting out and doing it myself and progressing my skills in the future.
Natalie Tucker Intro to Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 30/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Another fantastic course with Mike Dixon. His expert coaching has moved my shooting and rollerskiing massively forward.
Colin Duffus Biathlon - Intermediate Reviewed on 03/09/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Absolutely fantastic, I learnt so much and cannot wait to be back for assessment.
Stephen Hopwood Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 29/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was far and away the highest quality training that I have ever received. The centre is mind-blowingly good, the course very well deigned and the instructors of the highest calibre.
John Gilmour Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 30/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent introduction to rolling; well-paced, mixed methods, gives a thorough understanding of the component parts of a roll and ample opportunity to practice with feedback and support. I strongly recommend this course to anyone wanting to get to grips with rolling.
Paula Nichols Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 23/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Really well tought course, centre well equipped, everyone friendly, easy to reach incl. public transport
Ute Davies Navigation & Hill Skills Reviewed on 21/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course, well worth doing and I would recommend anyone to take part if they want to develop their outdoors skills
steven rees Mountaineering Instructor Award Training Reviewed on 16/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Amazing course and really well led.
Derek Page Intro White Water Kayak (2 Day) Reviewed on 16/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great location, plenty of opportunities to be taken out of my comfort zone.
Anne Hay Improver Sea Kayak - Summer Isles (5 Day) Reviewed on 14/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
i thoroughly enjoyed the course and found it to be enjoyable, rewarding, informative and tailored to my my needs
Simon Targett Intro to Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 18/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Really good week, went to do 5 days of outdoor rock climbing and did 5 days of outdoor rock climbing. Met a bunch of people in the evenings, everyone very friendly.
Tom Syndercombe U18 - Intro to Rock Climbing (5 Days) Reviewed on 11/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I had never been in a sea kayak before so was surprised how much I learnt and could put into practice in 2 days training.
Les Houlker Intro Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 26/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent 5 day course with first class instruction, great company and fantastic scenery.
Fiona McKillop Intro Sea Kayaking (5 Day) Reviewed on 17/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic 3 days with Derek Bain .
Edward corley Cuillin Traverse Reviewed on 29/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Had a brilliant time, came away feeling a lot more confident.
Kathryn Crouch Trad Climbing Improver Reviewed on 16/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Patrick Kearns Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 13/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I got a lot out of the course and had a really enjoyable week! I found it a great 'kick-start' in traditional rock climbing and now feel I know enough about the basics and have enough confidence to go out and continue learning together with friends who have more experience than I do. The quality of the course was very high and the content each day was well tailored. The lodge provides a great setting and the food and service was grand.
Christian Jonsson Learn to Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 21/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was a brilliant course. I improved lots of skills and became more confident on the water. Great instructor. It was really useful to be able to use the rolling pool in the evenings.
Beverley Wood Improver White Water Kayak Reviewed on 10/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
excellent instruction, pacing and explanation, had a great time and learned a great deal, cant wait to get up on the mountains and practice
Geoff Sharp Intro to Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 05/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
One of the best learning experiences of my life. Our instructor Jools was not only an amazing teacher but the passion he has for open canoe was addictive.
Tobias Leask BC 3 Star Training & Assessment - Open Canoe Reviewed on 03/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Possibly the best course I've been on. The pace was great, the group gelled really well, trips were well selected to offer us the right level of challenge and learning experiences. Lots if laughter and learning...I had a brilliant week. Great I got my award but sad its over.
leigh murray BC 3 Star Training & Assessment - Open Canoe Reviewed on 03/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant course, great to work on skills and ride some good trails. Nice mixture of trail centres and wild tracks to ride. Fantastic instructor.
Edward Holt Trail Plus (5 Day) Reviewed on 03/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This is a great place to do your assessment. The instructors work hard to put you at your ease whilst getting the best from you. They give good feedback during and after the assessment. And the mountains are great...
Peter Coville Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course was one of the best learning experiences I have had. Fun, informative, challenging and very satisfying.
Our instructor Jools was a master of his craft and I left wanting book more courses.
Tobias Leask Trail Riding (2 Days) Reviewed on 21/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Highly recommended to get a taste of loch, river as well as sea paddling.

To get the best out of most things, you need to put in the effort, often, a measure or two of good guidance goes a long way. Giles was a fountain of information, and has done many amazing things which inspired confidence when we faced a challenge or two during the week. We had tremendous fun, learnt a lot, and I’ve been inspired to seek more paddlesport activity (not so easy ‘down-South’). I look forward to returning to Glenmore Lodge and Scotland again.

The Lodge was a great base to return to everyday.
Colin Barbour Intro to Paddlesport Touring (5 Day) Reviewed on 28/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A thoroughly enjoyable and inspiring course.
Louise Henderson UKCC Level 2 Certificate in Coaching Paddlesport Training Reviewed on 18/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I passed, which alays puts things in a better light. But even if I had not the staff made it a few days packed with additional learning and the Lodge atmosphere (and beer!) made it easy to relax and enjoy the experience as much as is possible at an assessment.
Edward Lawson BC 4 Star Leader Assessment - Open Canoe Reviewed on 18/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great one day course that was tailored for the small group
Alison Smith Improver Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 18/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant!! Chris the instructor made the course fun and was really patient. The course was pitched at my exact level.
robert jackson Trail Plus (2 Day) Reviewed on 07/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This course was really excellent and I could not be more happy with how everything went. Thank you. All the staff were very helpful, welcoming and friendly, and the overall experience was great. It was my firs experience at Glenmore Lodge and I would definitely seek to attend more courses there, not to mention taking advantage of the B&B accommodation on future occasions. The way the weekend was organised was very slick (i.e. the welcome talk, then picking up the kit, then the chat with the instructor, etc).
Paula Barratt Intro Open Canoe Open Water (2 Day) Reviewed on 08/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very knowledgeable instructors who gauged the group knowledge to deliver information and content to enrich our knowledge. Excellent attention to the safety aspect and the both led by example!
Milena Zaharieva Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 06/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course, instructors, food and accommodation! Really inspired!
Kirsten Ross Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 06/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Absolutely excellent course, brilliant instructors (Sandy Patterson and Colin Reilly), lot's of learning, brilliant venue and the catering was 2nd to none!
Drew Pountney Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 06/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Good overall - it gave me a chance to get climbing outdoors and experience different rock types.
Alice Mitchell Learn to Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 09/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course that has moved my climbing skills forward significantly.
Mike Hall Learn to Lead Climb Reviewed on 08/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The day spent with Keith was thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish. Excellent
Sandy Thow MTA Winter Conference - Option 3 - Sunday Only (not including dinner) Reviewed on 31/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
It was good to view maps of a different landscape I picked up a few tips along the way. Even something as simple as knowing the new compasses have a 1:40 000 roma scale now added to them is great news.
Knowing a tip to easily slide a figure of eight knot up and down the rope was a good tip.
Brushing up on a few plants was good news.
I wish the course had been three days or four as I could easily have done two more of the workshops.
Virginia Whittle MTA Winter Conference Option 1 - Weekend Package Reviewed on 31/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An absolutely fabulous course. I came away with learning and doing much more than I had expected.
Alex Mair Intro to Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 28/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This is the third biathlon course that we have done at Glenmore Lodge & it was up to the usual high standard.. It's also good to measure our progress in improved shooting scores & better roller ski-ing.
Claire Attridge & Darren Clark Biathlon - Beginner Reviewed on 05/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course, great instructor, great accommodation, great location. This was a repeat visit for us and we'll definitely be back again.
David Maddock Biathlon - Beginner Reviewed on 22/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I have L1 and 3* sea but have never done white water. Unsure if this was the course for me I phoned and after a lengthy discussion was told it probably was. I have to say whoever I spoke to was absolutely spot on with her understanding of skills I already had and those I would need to get me where I wanted to be. Enthusiastic and professional staff in all areas who were always happy to help. Thank you Glenmore staff. You are what makes the learning fun. I will definitely be back.
Deborah Blair Intro to White Water Kayak (5 Days) Reviewed on 29/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A good 'week' - no doubt helped by excellent weather. I learned a lot (my main aim), and enjoyed myself and the camaraderie of the other group members.
Tom Leatherland Improver Sea Kayak - Summer Isles (5 Day) Reviewed on 30/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Mark Lawton International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 01/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Gareth Williams BC Foundation Safety & Rescue Reviewed on 31/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Caroline Langdon Intro Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 24/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, accommodation & location.
Pete Barber Intro Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 28/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
You pay for the best and you get the best. Excellent facilities, inspirational staff.
Lawrence Tring Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 22/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A very well organised week.
Christopher Wood Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 23/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Amazing course, went beyond expectations thanks to the instructors and climbing locations.
Chris Bradbury Learn to Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 27/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really good and enjoyable course (despite some wet and windy weather) which improved my skills and built my confidence in rougher sea conditions, and left me keen to sign up for more kayaking adventures! I want to surf some more waves! Good to meet up and enjoy the company of other outdoor enthusiasts too!
Chris Gordon Intermediate Sea Kayaking - Skye Reviewed on 26/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A very enjoyable attempt at the ridge - even if prevented by the weather again from completing the full traverse...
Caspian Richards Cuillin Traverse Reviewed on 22/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Very informative, well delivered course by excellent instructors who made learning a pleasure. Thanks to Bill, Phil and the other candidates for a great week and the staff at Glenmore Lodge; the perfect location.
Cathy Bow Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 16/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course - most relevant first aid course I have done for the work I do (leading expedition groups overseas). Would definitely recommend to anyone who works in remote locations with groups.
Helen Denny WMT - Far From Help (Foundation) Reviewed on 11/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course! Covers all the basics! Great learning!
Giulio Maffioletti Safe Ropework And Gear Placement Reviewed on 13/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, very good instructors, well run.
Daniel Day Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 11/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I've given 5 stars all through because I had no complaints about any aspect...I would have liked a couple more days though!
Jane Sargent Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 24/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I was the least experienced member of the group but was made to feel welcome and given first class instruction and guidance in great locations.
Peter Thorpe Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very enjoyable and constructive course.
Julian Donnelly/KathGill Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A superb week of ski touring. The route was very interesting and scenic, with just the right degree of challenge.
Ian Nunn Reviewed on 18/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very informative and enjoyable course. I would highly recommend it for anyone who requires first aid in the outdoors. Chris the instructor was great.
David Beadle BASP First Aid at Work Reviewed on 10/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This is the second course I have done with you (I previously did the 5 day winter skills course 3 years ago). Both times I have been very impressed, learnt alot and come away with exactly what i wanted to get out of it. The food is also excellent
Abigail Hathway Improver Ski Touring (2 Day) Reviewed on 04/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course, excellent facilities, kit and staff.
Ben Noakes Reviewed on 30/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Timothy Brown Intro Ski Touring (5 Days) Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I normally do not do any reviews but these guys definitely deserve it!
The entire lodge is like a well-oiled machine and there really is nothing to complain about. I would go back, for sure!
kristian pedersen Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Sarah Charlton Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
First class Assesor input, we were constantly informed of what the day ahead would contain. Sandy and Kev were excellent assessors and very professional.
Gordon Dowling Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Course content and delivery were excellent.
The Lodge staff all pull in the same direction and are all helpful and friendly.
Accommodation is good although the building I thought was a bit too warm.
Bill Dallas Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I wanted a hassle free WML Assessment and with the Lodge's package of food, accommodation and excellent instruction I certainly feel I got my monies worth and had no extra stress than necessary!
Matthew Le Voi Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great tour if sometimes adversely affected by the weather. A real mountain traverse.
Grant Bowie Reviewed on 04/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course brilliantly delivered.
Chris Goodman BASP First Aid at Work Revalidation Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Superb weekend.
Paul Caddy Improver Ski Touring (2 Day) Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Jo Marsh Improver Ski Touring (2 Day) Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant weekend, learnt a huge amount in such a short time and had a great experience alongside the learning!
Liam Baker Reviewed on 23/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Marc Missmahl Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great place, lovely locations and good instructors. I will definitively recommend it and I would probably come back for more.
Fernando Hidalgo Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Everything about my visit to Glenmore Lodge, was excellent, from the initial booking process, to the accommodation, helpful, friendly, knowledgeable staff, excellent food and an excellent course leader in Mike. My learning progression was beyond my expectations and I look forward to booking my next course, for next winter.
Keith Savidge Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Angie Velazquez Lopez Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I did both the 5 day mountaineering course and this 2 days intro course, which was a blast!
kristian pedersen Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good course with a good balance between technique, tips, navigation and avalanche awareness and putting it all into practise on the move.
Shaun Hurlow Improver Ski Touring (5 Days) Reviewed on 21/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Absolutely spot on. Would recommend. Would do another Glenmore course without hesitation.
Matthew Flynn Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 20/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
good considering conditions and limitations of a short course.
Ralph Jepson Reviewed on 15/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Guy Radford Reviewed on 15/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Was so useful. The instructor was knowledgable and completely tailored what we learned to the group.
James Burt Reviewed on 16/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A good course that is largely tailored to the groups experience and needs.
Stephen Corlett Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 14/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Michael Facchini Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 26/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I've had the best time and will definitely come back.
Jelle van der Does Reviewed on 14/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Anthony james Mccorkindale Reviewed on 13/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
We had a brilliant time - excellent instruction and we learnt lots. Accommodation and food lovely. Thank you! We hope to come back next year for winter mountaineering.
Rachel Macalister Hall Reviewed on 14/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Met my objectives and was well organised and with a great instructor
John Richardson Reviewed on 13/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The instruction,food and accommodation was of the highest quality. As soon as the 2017 dates are confirmed,I will be booking on to the Lead Winter Climbing course.
Ian Tupman Reviewed on 13/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
My sixth trip to the lodge and the level of service, instruction and access to equipment means I am already planning my next winter trip
Declan Fagan Reviewed on 14/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Anna Morrissey Reviewed on 17/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Really enjoyed the course, couldn't really fault it. Definitely intend to come back for a more advanced course next winter.
Robert Arthur Reviewed on 09/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fran O'Donnell Reviewed on 13/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Richard Burford-Pugh Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant weekend. Achieved everything I wanted - and more. Very flexible itinerary to take into account your abilities and aims. Evening lectures very well delivered too, as well as very informative. Learned loads.
My second course at Glenmore. Definitely be back.
Robert W Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Alan West Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Loved the course - was professionally delivered and learned a lot. Was also very impressed with the setup at the lodge, which well surpassed my expectations
Cameron Robinson Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Helen Judge Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Jim Galbraith Reviewed on 13/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Phil Younger Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, excellent instructors.
Neal Hockley Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Anthony Page Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Enjoyed my course and the setting.
Richard Cole Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Colin Cunningham Intro Ski Touring (5 Days) Reviewed on 06/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course. Content, method of instruction, facilities and the authentic Scottish weather - all first class. Thanks v much.
Graeme Deanus Intro Ski Touring (5 Days) Reviewed on 06/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Columb Strack Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I would have preferred more information pre joining about the first day briefing timetable and what to have packed for the first day on the mountain. Other than that excellent.
Huw Davies Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 06/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good course. Useful to have the instructors talk through their decision making when they changed plans and reacted to the weather. Learnt a lot and hope to do lots more soon.
Frances Grier Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 17/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was an excellent course which gave me exactly what I wanted - confidence and stronger skills in leading. Finishing the week by leading a Grade 4 was awesome!
Guy Howard Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Course achieved our objectives completely.
Maurice Naftalin Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Rafael Reina Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Adrian Howlett Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Thought it was a great intro course. It did actually challenge me and I think was the right level for me for a first course. All the participants were good skiers which was great.
INGRID KVALE Reviewed on 10/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
One of the best courses I have been on. It met all of my expectations and more! I really enjoyed my introduction to ski touring and learnt a great deal. I will definitely be doing more in the future. I would thoroughly recommend the course to anyone thinking of trying ski touring.
Ian Nunn Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I enjoyed the course. We learnt a lot of useful skills including self arrest with and without an ice axe, kicking and cutting steps, how to use crampons, navigational skills and about avalanche risks.
Carley Iles Reviewed on 03/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
For me the key aim of a course such as this is to equip people with the confidence and skills to go out and gain experience in different conditions, and therefore to gain proficiency in winter navigation overall. In this respect, I would say that the opportunity to go into the outdoors with the instructor, to pick up hints and tips and to learn strategies for navigating was very successful. This is evidenced by the fact that, in the week after the course, I spent time navigating in the Cairngorms in various conditions (up to and including full whiteout) and the confidence that I gained from the course helped enormously with this.
Michael Bennett Reviewed on 06/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Lee-Anne Herbert Reviewed on 02/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
John Marshall Intro Ski Touring (2 Day) Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I'd have liked to move a bit faster but appreciate with a group of 6 it is hard!
Hannah Grant Improver Ski Touring (2 Day) Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Upon arrival we were given accommodation in an 8 berth lodge,the other two members of our party were placed in the main building, seemed a little strange as we were attending the same course. As soon as we mentioned it we were moved into the main building so no complaints there. Hazel on reception deserves high praise. Always pleasant and helpful,without question Hazel does Glenmore Lodge proud and is certainly part of what makes the Glenmore Lodge team successful.
Heath Doran Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic time, as always. We were incredibly lucky with the conditions. Tom was an excellent instructor and the lodge accommodation and food was to a very high standard. Definitely one of the best weekends of the year!
ISABEL BURNHAM Reviewed on 04/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really enjoyed the intro to winter climbing course. The course was the perfect introduction to the techniques of winter climbing but within safe and experienced hands! We were also lucky with the weather, which was amazing!
Geoffrey Williamson Reviewed on 04/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Overall the course did everything we required, a small suggestion for the winter skills would be to have the lectures on the Friday night on arrival rather than the Saturday night when to be honest we were to tired to attend after a long day on the hills.
David Knights Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Richard Lawrence Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Sally Champion Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Felt well cared for by all the Staff, teaching and otherwise, at Glen More Lodge. The lodge is clearly a happy and inspiring place to work and it shows through the Staff interactions with clients.
Peter Newson Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Couldn't have been better. The stunning weather was a bonus, but the course itself was everything I'd hoped for.
Claire Tochel Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Good introductory course. Great food!
Jessica Lamming Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Stephen Murray Reviewed on 12/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Frances Tierney Reviewed on 29/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Everything was so impressive. From the friendly and efficient receptionist on arrival to the equipment, instructor, facilities and organisation at the centre. I will be back!
bridget mcmanus Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
A fantastic experience all round. A great combination of fun and learning, it felt like a holiday as much as a training course.
Matthew Caldwell Intro Ski Touring (5 Days) Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The experience exceeded my expectations in every way. What a great facility and one that I wish I'd found decades ago!!
Liz Davies Intro Ski Touring (5 Days) Reviewed on 29/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The overall experience was excellent. The course, accommodation, and instructor were all excellent.
Robert Skilton Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 04/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A challenging and exciting week that taught a lot and pushed me to my limits
Ashley Bennett Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 29/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Ross Spours Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course was great. Excellent instruction and choice of venues. The conditions helped a lot, but still a first class course. Loved it!
Simon Merrall Reviewed on 29/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very pleased with the course. Well paced, good building up of the skills (re-iteration over the 5 days)
Philip Barnes Reviewed on 06/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
John Eldred Reviewed on 29/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great location, with snow, great facilities and tuition. I'll be coming back.
Jim Weir Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic guide, good facilities and food made for a great and memorable week of climbing and learning. The walk-ins can be a bit tough, trudging through the snow with a heavy pack if you don't do regular endurance sports back home. Bring your own coffee!
Tim Taylor Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Adam Ballantyne Reviewed on 24/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was my second course at Glenmore Lodge. The quality of the instruction, lectures, food and accommodation was first class. Highly recommended!
Benjamin Knudson Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Nigel Cleaver Reviewed on 10/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good developmental experience.
Martin Bray Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 29/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Overall a massively enjoyable course, allowing to be felt at ease throughout
Alexander Kay Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good as usual. The Glenmore package is comprehensive and good value.
Bruce Manning Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Difficult to fault, especially as there was only one other participant on the course, so we had the benefit of a 1-2 instructor-pupil ratio.
John Mortimer Advanced Off Piste/Freeride (2 day) Reviewed on 10/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Exceeded my expectations having never skied in Scotland before. Whilst pistes are limited there was plenty of other train to explore and our instructor knew where the good snow was. The descent to Loch Avon was as good an off piste pitch as I have done and the scenery was spectacular.
Bill Ashford Off Piste Skiing - Improver (2 Day) Reviewed on 28/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Much better than expected. Really good quality accommodation and food. Instructor was great. Course covered everything I wanted.
Julie Woodfield Reviewed on 25/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Sarah Watton Reviewed on 27/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent welcome; made to feel special.
One lecture had started though I arrived 5 minutes early for it.
No fair trade coffee in the bedroom.
ANDREW BAKER Reviewed on 25/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Loved it. Great place, great facilities, great food and very friendly and helpful staff
John Spencer Intro Ski Touring (2 Day) Reviewed on 23/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I loved the course. Mark was brilliant taking us through the basics and ensuring we all got what we wanted from the course. It's my first experience of the Lodge and I will absolutely be back
Joanna Dytch Intro Ski Touring (2 Day) Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Rory Yeung Intro Ski Touring (2 Day) Reviewed on 23/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great weekend spent building skills. The only downside was the weather and avalanche forecast forcing us to stay low, but that is all part of being in the mountains in winter.
Allan Wylie Reviewed on 23/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent weekend of mountaineering. Covered so much in just two days, lots of stuff that was just theory previously I now feel practiced at.
John Cooper Reviewed on 26/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Sarah Davies Reviewed on 27/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good and well organized course. Facilities and instructor were excellent. Although weather conditions did not allowed for all the activities we could have done, we were offered with very good alternatives.
Alfonso Cayon Reviewed on 23/02/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A very full agenda filled all the available time. We learned a lot!
Peter Latimer Reviewed on 06/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course, thank you!
Caitlin Stark Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course in a good location. High standards as always.
Kirsty Pallas Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 23/02/2016
Course Content