Customer reviews - what you say about Glenmore Lodge

Absolutely everything we hoped for . Highly recommended.
Sutherland Neil Trail Fix Essentials (1 Day) Reviewed on 08/10/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A truly magnificent experience
King Graeme Rannoch Crossing by Open Canoe Reviewed on 26/08/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Awesome week. Saw a great uplift in my confidence and ability levels.
Walker Kevin Improver White Water Kayak Reviewed on 18/08/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great place! Amazing location, Welcoming staff and excellent assessment course.
Graham Still Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 11/08/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Exceeded any expectations I had. A really incredible and superb experience in spectacular locations.
Liz W Intro Sea Kayaking (5 Day) Reviewed on 28/07/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
It was a great course that has given me both the enthusiasm and confidence to continue with Open Canoeing.
Winch Peter BC Canoe Award Reviewed on 01/07/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Glenmore Lodge was my number one venue of choice, with the whole week surpassing expectations, whether the course, quality of instruction or the venue, facilities and great food. A huge thank you to all the staff at Glenmore Lodge for your high standards, welcoming approach and safe hands.
Stone Matthew Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 26/06/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very enjoyable and memorable trip
Jones Brian Great Glen Crossing Kayak Expedition (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/06/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I had a wonderful few days at the lodge and would recommend it to everyone.
Lunn Emily Discover Hill & Mountain Skills Reviewed on 13/06/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, predominantly down to first-class instruction, supported by quality food, accommodation, equipment and so on.
Smart Nicholas Learn to Lead Climb Reviewed on 12/06/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A fantastic week with Glenmore, it's one of my favourite places to be :)
Kirkaldy Isabel Discover Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/06/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A fantastic introduction to wild camping with first class instruction
Wilson David Learn to Wild Camp Reviewed on 07/05/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Exceeded all expectations.
Provided real insight into how to prepare properly for access-level ski touring.
Great instructors & equipment.
Ewan Patrick Discover Ski Touring (2 Day) Reviewed on 02/04/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Another fantastic GL course led by outstanding instructor ( Mike Jones )
Undoubtedly world class courses in exceptional surroundings delivered by the best instructors to be found anywhere.
Watt Iain Advanced Winter Skills Reviewed on 24/03/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great facilities one of my best days on the hill
Wood Adrian Discover Ski Touring (2 Day) Reviewed on 12/03/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course. One of the best I have done.
Roberts Chris Advanced Winter Skills Reviewed on 20/02/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant! First-class instructors were keen to pass on their wealth of knowledge and share their passion for winter climbing. The ability to trial different equipment through the week was fantastic.
Will Winter Climbing (5 Days) Reviewed on 11/02/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course with first class instructors ( KR IST )
Watt Iain Winter Skills (5 Days) Reviewed on 06/02/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Superb, couldn't fault, perfect in every way.
Sharples Mike Intro Winter Skills (2 Day) Reviewed on 30/01/2018
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Made to feel incredibly welcome by all staff involved, wonderful facilities and the course was very informative and at a good pace.
Wrightson Leanne Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 29/08/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
What can I say? Excellent tuition from Chris left me feeling like I was a proper mountain biker and not a passenger on a bike that is hurtling down a hill...
Will Mushat Trail Plus (2 Day) Reviewed on 07/08/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course from start to finish.
Tait Stuart Discover Paddlesport (2 Day) Reviewed on 02/07/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Top notch delivery, course content and venue.
Speight Neil Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 26/06/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The organisation was first rate, the accommodation and food excellent. Just can't fault it in any way
Walsh Joan Discover Paddlesport (2 Day) Reviewed on 05/06/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Well organised, well taught, relaxed but purposeful. An outstanding week.
Willetts Simon Intro Sea Kayaking (5 Day) Reviewed on 27/05/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Enjoyed a fabulous weeks climbing at various different venues. Learnt loads of new skills and built on previous experience. The professionalism and enthusiasm of the instructors was second to none ,they have the gift of being able to quickly build confidence,sharing their knowledge with adaptability, encouragement , humour and humility, always professional, always with safety at the forefront of everything. All in, the week exceeded my expectations, and fitted perfectly to everything i needed and hoped for.
Taylor David Discover Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 23/05/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Course pitched at correct level. Very willing to be flexible. Great understanding of people who had very little knowledge of the subject. We all learnt a huge amount and gained in confidence
Sircus Rex MTB Nuts and Bolts (1 Day) Reviewed on 08/05/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A really excellent all-round introduction to rock climbing and the rope work I need to know for my trip, which is going to be a bit more than a hike/scramble.
Very enjoyable indeed, and helped of course by the incredible 5 days of unbroken sunshine!
Chris I Discover Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/05/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course which should be a must for all hillwalkers.
Stewart Ronnie Discover Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 17/04/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
We are keen walkers but learned so much more than we ever realised we needed to know!
Great teamwork at Glenmore ensured we had an enjoyable experience from the moment we parked the car to the tea and cake review meeting at the end of our course.
Walton Christine Intro Winter Skills (2 Day) Reviewed on 03/04/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
As always, excellent facilities, excellent equipment and top rate instructors.
Tring Lawrence Discover Ski Touring (2 Day) Reviewed on 13/03/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Superb! First Class! Thank you! :)
Polkowska Malgorzata Introduction to Winter Navigation Reviewed on 08/03/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An enjoyable and varied couple of days that covered a wide range of topics, had a good balance between practical sessions and getting out on a tour, provided a great (re) introduction to ski touring, and had some nice weather thrown in.
Mcpherson Alastair Discover Ski Touring (2 Day) Reviewed on 02/04/2017
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent well delivered assessment from Al. Friendly manner, never felt under too much pressure
Alex Reid UKMBLS Mountain Bike Leader Level 3 Assessment Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent well paced course delivered by experienced BASP instructors who bought with them a wealth of experience from ski patrol, MR and medicine.
Gareth Digges La Touche BASP Advanced First Aid Reviewed on 12/11/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Overall a great course with lots to take in. The breadth of experience amongst the others on the course made for a great learning atmosphere with everyone willing to contribute.
Ray Allwood International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 07/11/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course providing lots of great ideas for teaching navigation, particularly for beginners.
Kay Anderson National Navigation Award Scheme (NNAS) Tutor Award Course Reviewed on 31/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
A very enjoyable course which would be advisable to any keen biker wanting to refresh their skills or learn some new tricks. Can't wait to come for the gold course !
Veshengo Purrum Velotech Mechanics Silver Reviewed on 11/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I found the course to be absolutely spot on, a great introduction to the theory and practise required to move quickly and safely in steep terrain.
PETER MCFADZEAN Discover Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 04/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course; very highly recommended. Good value for money.
Mike Forrester Introduction to Open Canoeing (5 day) Reviewed on 02/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Glenmore lodge's facilities, experienced trainers and excellent range of kit made it a fantastic place to go and learn and have fun
nicholas roxburgh Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 03/10/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course exceeded expectations in all ways from instruction through to accommodation and facilities.
Tanya Karlebach Discover Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 15/09/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good and would strongly recommend people do this immediately after the intro course. This course lets you consolidate skills you learned the previous day and also lets you learn new ones. I think people who only attended the improvers' course missed out.
maggie neilson 2 Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 06/09/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I was a little surprised that you ran the course for one person and I was a little apprehensive about two days of rolling but I was pleased in the end so thankyou.
Desmond McGee Improver Rolling Clinic - White Water Reviewed on 30/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A really enjoyable course which I left feeling confident in my new skills for scrambling and with enthusiasm for getting out and doing it myself and progressing my skills in the future.
Natalie Tucker Discover Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 30/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Another fantastic course with Mike Dixon. His expert coaching has moved my shooting and rollerskiing massively forward.
Colin Duffus Biathlon - Intermediate Reviewed on 03/09/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Absolutely fantastic, I learnt so much and cannot wait to be back for assessment.
Stephen Hopwood Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 29/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was far and away the highest quality training that I have ever received. The centre is mind-blowingly good, the course very well deigned and the instructors of the highest calibre.
John Gilmour Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 30/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent introduction to rolling; well-paced, mixed methods, gives a thorough understanding of the component parts of a roll and ample opportunity to practice with feedback and support. I strongly recommend this course to anyone wanting to get to grips with rolling.
Paula Nichols Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 23/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Really well tought course, centre well equipped, everyone friendly, easy to reach incl. public transport
Ute Davies Discover Hill & Mountain Skills Reviewed on 21/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course, well worth doing and I would recommend anyone to take part if they want to develop their outdoors skills
steven rees Mountaineering Instructor Award Training Reviewed on 16/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Amazing course and really well led.
Derek Page Discover White Water Kayak (2 Day) Reviewed on 16/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great location, plenty of opportunities to be taken out of my comfort zone.
Anne Hay Improver Sea Kayak - Summer Isles (5 Day) Reviewed on 14/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
i thoroughly enjoyed the course and found it to be enjoyable, rewarding, informative and tailored to my my needs
Simon Targett Discover Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 18/08/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
I had never been in a sea kayak before so was surprised how much I learnt and could put into practice in 2 days training.
Les Houlker Discover Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 26/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent 5 day course with first class instruction, great company and fantastic scenery.
Fiona McKillop Intro Sea Kayaking (5 Day) Reviewed on 17/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic 3 days with Derek Bain .
Edward corley Skye Ridge Traverse Reviewed on 29/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Had a brilliant time, came away feeling a lot more confident.
Kathryn Crouch Trad Climbing Improver Reviewed on 16/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Patrick Kearns Beginner Rolling Clinic Reviewed on 13/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I got a lot out of the course and had a really enjoyable week! I found it a great 'kick-start' in traditional rock climbing and now feel I know enough about the basics and have enough confidence to go out and continue learning together with friends who have more experience than I do. The quality of the course was very high and the content each day was well tailored. The lodge provides a great setting and the food and service was grand.
Christian Jonsson Discover Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 21/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was a brilliant course. I improved lots of skills and became more confident on the water. Great instructor. It was really useful to be able to use the rolling pool in the evenings.
Beverley Wood Improver White Water Kayak Reviewed on 10/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
excellent instruction, pacing and explanation, had a great time and learned a great deal, cant wait to get up on the mountains and practice
Geoff Sharp Discover Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 05/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
One of the best learning experiences of my life. Our instructor Jools was not only an amazing teacher but the passion he has for open canoe was addictive.
Tobias Leask BC Canoe Award Reviewed on 03/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Possibly the best course I've been on. The pace was great, the group gelled really well, trips were well selected to offer us the right level of challenge and learning experiences. Lots if laughter and learning...I had a brilliant week. Great I got my award but sad its over.
leigh murray BC Canoe Award Reviewed on 03/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant course, great to work on skills and ride some good trails. Nice mixture of trail centres and wild tracks to ride. Fantastic instructor.
Edward Holt Trail Plus (5 Day) Reviewed on 03/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This is a great place to do your assessment. The instructors work hard to put you at your ease whilst getting the best from you. They give good feedback during and after the assessment. And the mountains are great...
Peter Coville Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The course was one of the best learning experiences I have had. Fun, informative, challenging and very satisfying.
Our instructor Jools was a master of his craft and I left wanting book more courses.
Tobias Leask Trail Riding (2 Days) Reviewed on 21/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Highly recommended to get a taste of loch, river as well as sea paddling.

To get the best out of most things, you need to put in the effort, often, a measure or two of good guidance goes a long way. Giles was a fountain of information, and has done many amazing things which inspired confidence when we faced a challenge or two during the week. We had tremendous fun, learnt a lot, and I’ve been inspired to seek more paddlesport activity (not so easy ‘down-South’). I look forward to returning to Glenmore Lodge and Scotland again.

The Lodge was a great base to return to everyday.
Colin Barbour Discover Paddlesport Touring (5 Day) Reviewed on 28/07/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A thoroughly enjoyable and inspiring course.
Louise Henderson British Canoeing Coach Core Training Reviewed on 18/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I passed, which alays puts things in a better light. But even if I had not the staff made it a few days packed with additional learning and the Lodge atmosphere (and beer!) made it easy to relax and enjoy the experience as much as is possible at an assessment.
Edward Lawson BC Canoe Leader - Assessment Reviewed on 18/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great one day course that was tailored for the small group
Alison Smith Further Navigation Skills (1 Day) Reviewed on 18/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant!! Chris the instructor made the course fun and was really patient. The course was pitched at my exact level.
robert jackson Trail Plus (2 Day) Reviewed on 07/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This course was really excellent and I could not be more happy with how everything went. Thank you. All the staff were very helpful, welcoming and friendly, and the overall experience was great. It was my firs experience at Glenmore Lodge and I would definitely seek to attend more courses there, not to mention taking advantage of the B&B accommodation on future occasions. The way the weekend was organised was very slick (i.e. the welcome talk, then picking up the kit, then the chat with the instructor, etc).
Paula Barratt Intro Open Canoe Open Water (2 Day) Reviewed on 08/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very knowledgeable instructors who gauged the group knowledge to deliver information and content to enrich our knowledge. Excellent attention to the safety aspect and the both led by example!
Milena Zaharieva Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 06/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course, instructors, food and accommodation! Really inspired!
Kirsten Ross Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 06/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Absolutely excellent course, brilliant instructors (Sandy Patterson and Colin Reilly), lot's of learning, brilliant venue and the catering was 2nd to none!
Drew Pountney Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 06/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Good overall - it gave me a chance to get climbing outdoors and experience different rock types.
Alice Mitchell Discover Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 09/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An excellent course that has moved my climbing skills forward significantly.
Mike Hall Learn to Lead Climb Reviewed on 08/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The day spent with Keith was thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish. Excellent
Sandy Thow MTA Winter Conference - Option 3 - Sunday Only (not including dinner) Reviewed on 31/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
It was good to view maps of a different landscape I picked up a few tips along the way. Even something as simple as knowing the new compasses have a 1:40 000 roma scale now added to them is great news.
Knowing a tip to easily slide a figure of eight knot up and down the rope was a good tip.
Brushing up on a few plants was good news.
I wish the course had been three days or four as I could easily have done two more of the workshops.
Virginia Whittle MTA Winter Conference Option 1 - Weekend Package Reviewed on 31/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
An absolutely fabulous course. I came away with learning and doing much more than I had expected.
Alex Mair Discover Scrambling (2 Day) Reviewed on 28/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This is the third biathlon course that we have done at Glenmore Lodge & it was up to the usual high standard.. It's also good to measure our progress in improved shooting scores & better roller ski-ing.
Claire Attridge & Darren Clark Biathlon - Beginner Reviewed on 05/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course, great instructor, great accommodation, great location. This was a repeat visit for us and we'll definitely be back again.
David Maddock Biathlon - Beginner Reviewed on 22/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I have L1 and 3* sea but have never done white water. Unsure if this was the course for me I phoned and after a lengthy discussion was told it probably was. I have to say whoever I spoke to was absolutely spot on with her understanding of skills I already had and those I would need to get me where I wanted to be. Enthusiastic and professional staff in all areas who were always happy to help. Thank you Glenmore staff. You are what makes the learning fun. I will definitely be back.
Deborah Blair Intro to White Water Kayak (5 Days) Reviewed on 29/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A good 'week' - no doubt helped by excellent weather. I learned a lot (my main aim), and enjoyed myself and the camaraderie of the other group members.
Tom Leatherland Improver Sea Kayak - Summer Isles (5 Day) Reviewed on 30/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Mark Lawton International Mountain Leader Summer Training Reviewed on 01/06/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Gareth Williams BC Foundation Safety & Rescue Reviewed on 31/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Caroline Langdon Discover Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 24/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, accommodation & location.
Pete Barber Discover Sea Kayaking (2 Day) Reviewed on 28/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
You pay for the best and you get the best. Excellent facilities, inspirational staff.
Lawrence Tring Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 22/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A very well organised week.
Christopher Wood Summer Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 23/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Amazing course, went beyond expectations thanks to the instructors and climbing locations.
Chris Bradbury Discover Rock Climb (5 Days) Reviewed on 27/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Really good and enjoyable course (despite some wet and windy weather) which improved my skills and built my confidence in rougher sea conditions, and left me keen to sign up for more kayaking adventures! I want to surf some more waves! Good to meet up and enjoy the company of other outdoor enthusiasts too!
Chris Gordon Intermediate Sea Kayaking - Skye Reviewed on 26/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A very enjoyable attempt at the ridge - even if prevented by the weather again from completing the full traverse...
Caspian Richards Skye Ridge Traverse Reviewed on 22/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Very informative, well delivered course by excellent instructors who made learning a pleasure. Thanks to Bill, Phil and the other candidates for a great week and the staff at Glenmore Lodge; the perfect location.
Cathy Bow Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 16/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course - most relevant first aid course I have done for the work I do (leading expedition groups overseas). Would definitely recommend to anyone who works in remote locations with groups.
Helen Denny WMT - Far From Help (Foundation) Reviewed on 11/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course! Covers all the basics! Great learning!
Giulio Maffioletti Safe Ropework And Gear Placement Reviewed on 13/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, very good instructors, well run.
Daniel Day Summer Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 11/05/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I've given 5 stars all through because I had no complaints about any aspect...I would have liked a couple more days though!
Jane Sargent Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 24/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I was the least experienced member of the group but was made to feel welcome and given first class instruction and guidance in great locations.
Peter Thorpe Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very enjoyable and constructive course.
Julian Donnelly/KathGill Intermediate Open Canoeing - White Water (5 Day) Reviewed on 25/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A superb week of ski touring. The route was very interesting and scenic, with just the right degree of challenge.
Ian Nunn Reviewed on 18/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very informative and enjoyable course. I would highly recommend it for anyone who requires first aid in the outdoors. Chris the instructor was great.
David Beadle BASP First Aid at Work Reviewed on 10/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This is the second course I have done with you (I previously did the 5 day winter skills course 3 years ago). Both times I have been very impressed, learnt alot and come away with exactly what i wanted to get out of it. The food is also excellent
Abigail Hathway Ski Touring Skins and Skills (Improver) (2 Day) Reviewed on 04/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great course, excellent facilities, kit and staff.
Ben Noakes Reviewed on 30/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Timothy Brown Discover Ski Touring (5 Days) Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I normally do not do any reviews but these guys definitely deserve it!
The entire lodge is like a well-oiled machine and there really is nothing to complain about. I would go back, for sure!
kristian pedersen Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Sarah Charlton Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
First class Assesor input, we were constantly informed of what the day ahead would contain. Sandy and Kev were excellent assessors and very professional.
Gordon Dowling Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Course content and delivery were excellent.
The Lodge staff all pull in the same direction and are all helpful and friendly.
Accommodation is good although the building I thought was a bit too warm.
Bill Dallas Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 28/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I wanted a hassle free WML Assessment and with the Lodge's package of food, accommodation and excellent instruction I certainly feel I got my monies worth and had no extra stress than necessary!
Matthew Le Voi Winter Mountain Leader Assessment Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great tour if sometimes adversely affected by the weather. A real mountain traverse.
Grant Bowie Reviewed on 04/04/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course brilliantly delivered.
Chris Goodman BASP First Aid at Work Revalidation Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Superb weekend.
Paul Caddy Ski Touring Skins and Skills (Improver) (2 Day) Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Jo Marsh Ski Touring Skins and Skills (Improver) (2 Day) Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant weekend, learnt a huge amount in such a short time and had a great experience alongside the learning!
Liam Baker Reviewed on 23/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Marc Missmahl Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Great place, lovely locations and good instructors. I will definitively recommend it and I would probably come back for more.
Fernando Hidalgo Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Everything about my visit to Glenmore Lodge, was excellent, from the initial booking process, to the accommodation, helpful, friendly, knowledgeable staff, excellent food and an excellent course leader in Mike. My learning progression was beyond my expectations and I look forward to booking my next course, for next winter.
Keith Savidge Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Angie Velazquez Lopez Reviewed on 22/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I did both the 5 day mountaineering course and this 2 days intro course, which was a blast!
kristian pedersen Reviewed on 27/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good course with a good balance between technique, tips, navigation and avalanche awareness and putting it all into practise on the move.
Shaun Hurlow Ski Touring Skins and Skills Improver (5 Days) Reviewed on 21/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Absolutely spot on. Would recommend. Would do another Glenmore course without hesitation.
Matthew Flynn Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 20/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
good considering conditions and limitations of a short course.
Ralph Jepson Reviewed on 15/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Guy Radford Reviewed on 15/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Was so useful. The instructor was knowledgable and completely tailored what we learned to the group.
James Burt Reviewed on 16/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
A good course that is largely tailored to the groups experience and needs.
Stephen Corlett Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 14/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Michael Facchini Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 26/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I've had the best time and will definitely come back.
Jelle van der Does Reviewed on 14/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Anthony james Mccorkindale Reviewed on 13/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
We had a brilliant time - excellent instruction and we learnt lots. Accommodation and food lovely. Thank you! We hope to come back next year for winter mountaineering.
Rachel Macalister Hall Reviewed on 14/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Met my objectives and was well organised and with a great instructor
John Richardson Reviewed on 13/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
The instruction,food and accommodation was of the highest quality. As soon as the 2017 dates are confirmed,I will be booking on to the Lead Winter Climbing course.
Ian Tupman Reviewed on 13/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
My sixth trip to the lodge and the level of service, instruction and access to equipment means I am already planning my next winter trip
Declan Fagan Reviewed on 14/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Anna Morrissey Reviewed on 17/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Really enjoyed the course, couldn't really fault it. Definitely intend to come back for a more advanced course next winter.
Robert Arthur Reviewed on 09/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Fran O'Donnell Reviewed on 13/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Richard Burford-Pugh Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Brilliant weekend. Achieved everything I wanted - and more. Very flexible itinerary to take into account your abilities and aims. Evening lectures very well delivered too, as well as very informative. Learned loads.
My second course at Glenmore. Definitely be back.
Robert W Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Alan West Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Loved the course - was professionally delivered and learned a lot. Was also very impressed with the setup at the lodge, which well surpassed my expectations
Cameron Robinson Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Helen Judge Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Jim Galbraith Reviewed on 13/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Phil Younger Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Excellent course, excellent instructors.
Neal Hockley Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Anthony Page Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Enjoyed my course and the setting.
Richard Cole Winter Mountain Leader Training Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Colin Cunningham Discover Ski Touring (5 Days) Reviewed on 06/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Fantastic course. Content, method of instruction, facilities and the authentic Scottish weather - all first class. Thanks v much.
Graeme Deanus Discover Ski Touring (5 Days) Reviewed on 06/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Columb Strack Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I would have preferred more information pre joining about the first day briefing timetable and what to have packed for the first day on the mountain. Other than that excellent.
Huw Davies Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 06/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Very good course. Useful to have the instructors talk through their decision making when they changed plans and reacted to the weather. Learnt a lot and hope to do lots more soon.
Frances Grier Winter Mountaineering (5 Days) Reviewed on 17/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
This was an excellent course which gave me exactly what I wanted - confidence and stronger skills in leading. Finishing the week by leading a Grade 4 was awesome!
Guy Howard Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Course achieved our objectives completely.
Maurice Naftalin Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Rafael Reina Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Adrian Howlett Reviewed on 08/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
Thought it was a great intro course. It did actually challenge me and I think was the right level for me for a first course. All the participants were good skiers which was great.
INGRID KVALE Reviewed on 10/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
One of the best courses I have been on. It met all of my expectations and more! I really enjoyed my introduction to ski touring and learnt a great deal. I will definitely be doing more in the future. I would thoroughly recommend the course to anyone thinking of trying ski touring.
Ian Nunn Reviewed on 07/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I enjoyed the course. We learnt a lot of useful skills including self arrest with and without an ice axe, kicking and cutting steps, how to use crampons, navigational skills and about avalanche risks.
Carley Iles Reviewed on 03/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
For me the key aim of a course such as this is to equip people with the confidence and skills to go out and gain experience in different conditions, and therefore to gain proficiency in winter navigation overall. In this respect, I would say that the opportunity to go into the outdoors with the instructor, to pick up hints and tips and to learn strategies for navigating was very successful. This is evidenced by the fact that, in the week after the course, I spent time navigating in the Cairngorms in various conditions (up to and including full whiteout) and the confidence that I gained from the course helped enormously with this.
Michael Bennett Reviewed on 06/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
Lee-Anne Herbert Reviewed on 02/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Food & Drink
Overall
John Marshall Discover Ski Touring (2 Day) Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink
Overall
I'd have liked to move a bit faster but appreciate with a group of 6 it is hard!
Hannah Grant Ski Touring Skins and Skills (Improver) (2 Day) Reviewed on 01/03/2016
Course Content
Instructor
Equipment
Accommodation
Food & Drink